ntoskrnl.exe causing crashes!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Andrewisawesome, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't installed any new software to my knowledge on my inspiron 15r, but it seems that out of nowhere it keeps on bluescreening due to ntoskrnl.exe.Can someone please tell me what the issue is?
    Thanks in advance!
    View attachment Minidump.zip
    Also, my laptop did NOT come with an OS disk and it was stupid of me not to make one so please dont tell me to do anything that involves a recovery/OS disk
     
    #1 Andrewisawesome, Dec 26, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  2. Lyras

    Lyras New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Possible to go into the safe mode (F8)?
     
  3. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it is possible(that's how I managed to upload the mini dump files) but I have no idea what to do in safe mode? And I can log on normally but I receive the BSOD within five minutes, probably due to the delayed startup of ntoskrnl after logging in.
     
  4. Lyras

    Lyras New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried to do a system restore in safe mode or choose at startup last good known config?
     
  5. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will see, but I have never made any backups of anything on my computer and how could I restore it without a backup or OS disk?
     
  6. Lyras

    Lyras New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you havent disabled it windows makes a restore point every time you install software or get windows updates.
    Maybe you are lucky ;)
     
  7. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    ntoskrnl.exe problems can be practically anything. You also have problems with at least disk.sys = cd and / or DVD driver(s). Totally, it can go to problems all over the computer.

    You could test it by unplugging your disk driver - drivers quite often run into trouble.

    And, if you have warranty left, you can always take it to the seller.
     
  10. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I disable the drivers for the CD/DVD drive? Also, I'm pretty sure that I still have a warranty as I just got the laptop as a present last summer
     
  11. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    About the OS disk: Dell has a restoration partition that should be activated by pressing F8 at Power On. It may not be the easiest thing to start, so if you run into Windows, restart and try again. Press F8 repeatedly, and you should come to various options.

    But since you obviously have warranty left, I would recommend service. They know what they do, eh?

    You can disable the drive from Windows, although it would be better to physically unplug = take out the wiring. But I think, the two previous options are better.
     
  12. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to disable the drivers, no luck, I've already tried the f8 thing and it only had options to restore to a previous safe point, which I've already done. But I'm not sure I wanna tell my parents because the whole reason they bought me this laptop was because my old one couldn't even start, and I didn't want to fix it. I'm just worried that they won't understand and just say that it is something that I did, just like last time. So getting dell to service it is last on my list. I've also tried the memory test from the f8 screen and it turned up negative-no problems.
     
  13. Twinnii

    Twinnii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. Twinnii

    Twinnii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0

    Try running a chkdsk /r on the hard drive.
    To do so, go to the Start menu in the search type cmd and press enter.
    Then type in the command chkdsk /r
     
  15. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe that I had tried that and it claimed that there was nothing wrong with the hard drive.
     
  16. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    There's quite a lot of information regarding your dump files, many referring to Internet / Network problems. It could be "as easy as" a virus infection or other malware. Have you cruised on risky waters? Have you done a thorough virus scan? Also, you could do a Malwarebytes : Free anti-malware download check.

    And, if you have a warranty, why not use it? Not taking a standpoint in the parental problem, but do they really have to know? --- Gosh, I feel pretty crooked here...
     
  17. Andrewisawesome

    Andrewisawesome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the full version of Norton 360 so I don't see how I would have a virus that would affect my computer that much.. I have been downloading a lot so that option can't be ruled out. Unfortunately, I just did a dell data safe restore, and now I can't log in. If it is a virus and i pretty much just did a factory wipe, would the virus still be there? If you would be able to help me, I'll post a link to the other thread that I started concerning my new problem. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...