Only 4GB of 8GB available

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by izaktaylor, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I just did a reformat of my machine with new hardware. I upgraded the memory to 8gb. Im using 64bit windows ultimate and for some reason 4 of the 8gb are showing up in system resources as 'hardware reserved'. Any ideas why?

    thank you.
     
    #1 izaktaylor, Nov 30, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  2. nehoma

    nehoma Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    7
    Try this: click "start" type into search "msconfig" the file will appear in the search results. Click on "msconfig.exe" when it opens click on "boot/advanced options" uncheck any tick in maximum memory and number of processors. click ok and them apply and ok again and see if that does the trick
     
  3. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    First, make sure all the memory is seen by the bios when powering on the machine. If it is, go in the bios and enable memory remapping. Save.
     
  4. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went into msconfig but no ticks were checked, it didn't appear the memory was being limited there.

    I peeked into the bios but i didn't see any listing for memory or remapping, which is perhaps because I wasn't sure where to look.

    Thank you both.

    *update* in my Bios it shows i only have 4GB. I have searched the entire bios and i can not find a re-mapping option for the memory.
     
    #4 izaktaylor, Nov 30, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  5. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, solved it. This sounds stupid... but one stick of the memory (4gb) wasn't plugged in all the way. Thanks for you help though. :)
     
  6. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    You're welcome. You say "though" as if it is a side thought. "First, make sure all the memory is seen by the bios" - that phrase was intended by me to get you to make sure the memory modules were plugged in all the way. ;)
     
  7. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOl ah i see. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...