PC is not shutting down normally!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by gabiibag, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. gabiibag

    gabiibag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,
    It's all about my friend's PC and it has the following configuration:

    MB: Asus P5B-E
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6420
    RAM: 2X Kingmax 512MB DDR2 667MHz => 1GB
    VGA: Nvidia GeForce 7300le
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x86

    The first thing i want to do is to buy a new single RAM memory of 2 GB at 800MHz, because personally I think that the RAM is the weak link of the system.

    The first question is: What is the best combination? To have 3GB of RAM at 667MHz or 2GB at 800MHz......? Now with the currently configuration (1GB at 667MHz) the level of used RAM memory in idle is 75%.

    The other problem is that every time when the PC is shutting down, the green light turns off and the red one is blinking very fast, giving you the impression that it's always lit; and the red light intensity is very low; (it emits less light). The PC has 2 coolers (one for CPU and other to the power source ...and the VGA doesn't have a cooler) and when the PC is shutting down the phenomenon with the lights happens and one of the coolers will never stop (i don't know which of them)... => the red light is blinking very fast at low light intensity and a cooler is on.....and those will never end up until you will press the shut down button for a few seconds.

    The system was configured (installed the OS and the other programs)... by a guy with knowledge and he said that this happens because of the newer OS installed. (Windows 7).
    This problem doesn't appear when restarting the PC.... It appears only when the system is shutting down.

    The second question is:
    Can the small capacity of RAM (1GB) lead to this phenomenon?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,831
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    The difference between 667MHz and 800MHz is tiny so if it's more RAM your after then 3GB is certainly better than two..

    As for your shutdown issue, have you checked what the settings are under Power options? See the screenshot:

    power.
     
  3. gabiibag

    gabiibag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    to be honest i haven't checked those settings..... but i think that this is not the problem... if you have read all what i wrote about the problem. If you read and you think that this is the problem... i'll definitely check this... (i think on sunday)

    Don't you think that the power source Watts can be the problem? Now i don't know how many Watts it has...
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,831
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Usually a power problem, let's say a lack of power, only becomes apparent when the system is being pushed and pushed hard. Likely situations are gaming for example. If the system suddenly shuts down or blue screens during a game then the PSU could be a suspect. Do you know the actual output of the PSU? If you open up the case you might be able to see it written on the side of the psu. If it's something like 400W then you should be fine unless it's faulty..
     
  5. ELiTEFX

    ELiTEFX New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    The green lite is the power lite. The red lite is the hard drive activity lite. It's supposed to blink when the hard drive is accessed.
    800mhz ram will run at 667mhz on a 1333mhz FSB system. As for the PSU, 400 watt PSUs are ok for onboard video but are no good for any rig with a video card installed. Use an online power supply calculator to tell you what size PSU you require.....
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,831
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    I beg to differ, 400w might be fine for a low end solution but at the end of the day it's amps that's the important number here.
     
  7. ELiTEFX

    ELiTEFX New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    @ kemical

    agree 100%. I was going to add in my response that buying name brand equipment and amps on the 12 volt rail are the main consideration in selecting a PSU but unfortunately IMHO experience has taught me that most folks are only aware of the big number stamped on the side of the unit. Selecting a higher wattage PSU usually guarantees they'll get a 12 volt amp sufficient unit.
     
    #7 ELiTEFX, Sep 2, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2012
    1 person likes this.
  8. gabiibag

    gabiibag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    To the respective system i updated the BIOS to the newest stable one and i also put on the system 3 GB of RAM.
    The same problem when shutting down.
    I opened the case and you can see in the pictures what is written on the PSU.
    How many Watts has the PSU?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. gabiibag

    gabiibag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also in the next pictures you can see the new configuration after installing 2x 1GB 800MHz.
    The 4 RAMs are running in dual-channel at 667MHz?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,831
    Likes Received:
    1,565

Share This Page

Loading...