PC upgrades

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by 03hdfatboy, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm planning on a few upgrades..
    Going with a 24" Acer, gonna put my 22" on Frank-n-Stine. An ASUS 3870x2 V/C Taking 1of the X1950XTX in Frank-n-Stine the other in the wifes. 8Gb of RAM and adding a 500Gb Seagate HD.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    8GB of RAM!!!! Man that things gonna fly [​IMG]
     
  3. superbill

    superbill New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    1
    What are you needing 8GB of Ram for? How often will your system actually need to use that much?
     
  4. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I do use the 64bit Vista and have seen when using 4Gb the usage go over 60% :eek:
    I'm also using a 4Gb sandisk for readyboost and have yet seen where it actually does anything.
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hmm....Apparently Readyboost only really works when you have a small amount of RAM, say 512MB. If you already have 4GB then it's not going to work...
     
  6. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    right now I'm only running the 2Gb that was in frank-n-stine.....remember?
     
  7. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got my refund from Corsair and this is what I'm ordering first thing Monday

    Seagate Barracuda 1TB/32MB Cache
    G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) DDR2 1000
    ASUS Radeon HD 3870 X2

    [​IMG]
     
  8. superbill

    superbill New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    1
    You should not need to upgrade again for quite some time with that spec.!!!!!!!!!!
     
  9. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    LOL... I'm ALWAYS looking ahead and planning on the next one.
     
  10. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ordered this morning :D
     
  11. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    UPS tracking says I should have it by Wed. [​IMG]
     
  12. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got it today :D
    Got the ram installed HD installed, cloned and is now my primary and my old 400Gb is disconnected but still has Vista installed just in case
    V/C... that's a different story :mad: It is ALMOST too LONG! if it were another 1mm it would not fit. :eek: Anyway I installed it and my PC will not Post :confused:
    I'm tired and fixin' to go to bed, I'll deal with it tomorrow.
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hmm.... maybe a loose connection somewhere?
     
  14. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Glad you got it sorted... Come November/December I'm thinking of going over to ATI and getting a 4870 as price compared to performance blows the Nvidia offering away. Coupled with a 45nm quad and a new mobo I'll be able to upgrade for around £400. Then with the parts I'm using now I'll build another machine and sell that for £200 (which isn't bad for a 3.2GHz dual-core chip and a 8800GTS) so all in all if everything goes to plan then this years upgrade will be relatively inexpensive..:cool:
     
  16. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    I hear ya
    spare no expence!!!
     
  17. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    The 3870 OCs better than any ATI card I've ever had. :D
    [​IMG]
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
  19. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2

    That's a Lil' more than a tad :eek:
     
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Runs great too... It will clock well past that too but obviously I want the card to have some longevity so I keep it where it is.. In fact I've never really pushed it to see how far it will go as I'm satisfied with what it delivers already..
     

Share This Page

Loading...