PCI-E not listed in DM

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by Tsukira, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. Tsukira

    Tsukira New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mobo: Asus m4a78t-e (latest bios rev)
    Chipset: amd 790gx / sb750
    cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955
    ram: OCZ Reaper 2gb x4
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64

    Video card(s) - BFG Tech nVidia GTX 280 pci-e
    --also tried two different 8800s.

    This mobo comes with onboard video ati 3300. Current win7 catalyst drivers are installed for that.

    Tried many things to get windows to see the 280, but no luck. Won't list in device manager, so can't install drivers. Narrowed down to either: bad pci-e on mobo; problem with win7; conflict with ati drivers; or I'm missing something crucial in bios.

    Anyone point me in the right direction?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Usually there is a setting in the bios to determine which gets used, either onboard or third party graphic solution.
    Have you tried changing this setting?
     
  3. Tsukira

    Tsukira New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    There was an option in the NB2 Adv. Config.

    Something like Primary Video Controller. Settings: Onboard, PCI, PCI-E.
    Tried all of them. No matter what was set seemed to always use onboard.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    How old is the mobo? I suppose it is possible that the pcie slot has died, is the motherboard still under warranty?
     
  5. Tsukira

    Tsukira New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brand new finished installing everything yesterday. Was waiting up another hour to get on the phone with newegg about an rma if I wasn't able to sort out the issue. But a week without a computer is like a nightmare. Hopefully get an option for an advanced ship on my dime and refund when defective one is returned. (couldn't find if newegg still offered that)
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Yup send it back... I know it's a bummer to be without a machine but I've heard that newegg are supposed to be pretty good when it comes to stuff like this (I'm in the uk so have never used them)
     
  7. Tsukira

    Tsukira New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well... tested the card on an older mobo. Definately not the card with the problem. Must've just gotten bum luck with my order. It was a fairly inexpensive board, if I can't get the ship-first-return-later rma, I might just chalk it up to a new computer tax and buy a new one so I can get it sooner ><

    'til then, onboard video fun time. x.x
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Man thats a real bummer! I thought perhaps you'd forgotten to plug in the extra power cables to the card or something like that but if the cards are testing ok in a different board then it's time to send it back..
    Please let me know how you get on..
     

Share This Page

Loading...