Phenom II X4 955 and Windows 7 - core speed 800 MHz

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Mylo, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. Mylo

    Mylo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I've got Sapphire AM2RS790G MBO (BIOS - Phoenix Tech. 6.00, date 1/9/2009), Windows 7 Ultimate and Phenom II X4 955.

    Right after the install of Windows, My Computer reported Phenom II X4 955 - 800 MHz.

    :eek:

    I've tried the CPU-Z tool, here's the result;

    [​IMG]

    I've checked the BIOS, here's the screenshot;

    [​IMG]

    Tried to adjust the CPU ratio in BIOS to 16x (3200 MHz), but it froze the PC, no signal on monitor after that...so I've took the battery off and now it's back to auto, 800 MHz.

    I've tried to fix the settings in msconfig, no avail.

    Apparently Coon'n'Quiet is disabled, so why the low MHz? I've ran the benchmarking tool PerformanceTest and compared my results with a regular Phenom II X4 955.

    What is the problem?
     
  2. Mylo

    Mylo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I've got Sapphire AM2RS790G MBO (BIOS - Phoenix Tech. 6.00, date 1/9/2009), Windows 7 Ultimate and Phenom II X4 955.

    Right after the install of Windows, My Computer reported Phenom II X4 955 - 800 MHz.

    :eek:

    I've tried the CPU-Z tool, here's the result;

    [​IMG]

    I've checked the BIOS, here's the screenshot;

    [​IMG]

    Tried to adjust the CPU ratio in BIOS to 16x (3200 MHz), but it froze the PC, no signal on monitor after that...so I've took the battery off and now it's back to auto, 800 MHz.

    I've tried to fix the settings in msconfig, no avail.

    Apparently Coon'n'Quiet is disabled, so why the low MHz? I've ran the benchmarking tool PerformanceTest and compared my results with a regular Phenom II X4 955.

    What is the problem?
     
  3. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    195
    TorrentG and (deleted member) like this.
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Like Nmsuk say's check the system bios and please let us know how you get on..
     
  5. CommonTater

    CommonTater New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    36
    Run cpuz, but put some load on the CPU... Get it nice and busy... does the speed ramp up? That looks like Cool and Quiet running to me... My machine's 2.8ghz AMD 64 x2 and it spends most of it's time at about 940 mhz...

    If you look in the Windows Power settings you will find a minimum and maximum CPU state... Windows is probably re-enabling C&Q.
     
    #5 CommonTater, Sep 22, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    My 940 throttles back to 800MHz so it could be cool n quiet happening although when the OP tried to change bios settings he got a freeze.. So until the bios update is reported back on I'd hate to say more..
     

Share This Page

Loading...