Please help, strange UI

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Jordan0301, May 29, 2009.

  1. Jordan0301

    Jordan0301 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I just installed Windows 7 on a new Hardriver, only HD I'm running on this system...booted from disk, installed fine...got to the setup screen, everything looks wonderful. Restarted and booted from hardrive...now I no longer have the pretty fish background, with aero look etc....No I have no background, regular looking icons, a grey bar for the "task bar" and if I try and click anything like control pannel...it tells me "Windows cann't access the specified device....may not have permission...etc." And nothing works.

    What happened?!? Please help!


    Jordan
     
  2. kevin from Chi-town

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    8
    first try rebooting....then right click on desktop and go to personalize...then give it your desired settings.....if this doesnt work please repost with a more specific question
     
  3. Jordan0301

    Jordan0301 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure

    Not sure how to be more specific...when I log in under administrator, I can't click anything without getting the permission error, also the back ground and graphics are all very basic, no special features. The main problem is not being able to click on control pannel, or computer, or anything of the sort without geting the "permission" error.
     
  4. kevin from Chi-town

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    8
    can you post a screenshot so I could see what your looking at?
     
  5. jedixo

    jedixo New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1

    try going to device manager (start, right click my computer, properties, device manager) and select display adapters and install a driver from windows update. when i installed windows 7 i had to find the right graphics driver to get aero to work
     

Share This Page

Loading...