Windows 7 PLEASE HELP! Trying to reinstall windows 7.

Bob Johns

So i want to re install windows 7 because i have ALOT of junk on my computer and i just really want a fresh slate, so i got my computer with windows 7 already installed and i heard that i can restart my computer and press F8 and go to some re install thingy or something?, i have also heard that you can re install windows with the disk but i dont think i got the right disc with my computer, the only disc i got is labeled "Windows 7 Reinstall" but whenever i have rebooted my computer with it it dosent work. :/ sorry if i sound like a total noob, im not much a computer expert so yeah........i just really want to re install. i pretty much have no idea how tho :/ so please tell me what you need to know to help me !

Thanks for reading this~!

You probably have two options:

1. Boot from the dvd to reinstall - you will need to set your bios to boot from the optical drive to use this option.

2. You may be able to boot directly from a "recovery partition" on the hard drive. The mechanism for doing this can vary from one computer manufacturer to another so it would help if you told us the make and model of your pc.

Yes, you can get variation on how to enter bios but F2 during startup is most common. You then need to find the boot options and set the optical drive to be the first in the list - the link you have shown is quite good but it is for a specific bios - in this case a phoenix - and they do vary a bit.

It is probably rather easier to boot from the recovery partition on your hard drive if your pc has one - let us know make and model and we can help you to try that option if you wish.

OK ........ FIRST realize that a System RECOVERY is going to delete EVERYTHING on ur HDD except a recovery partition. So if u have anything u want to keep on the HDD move it to an external location. ALSO note that u must reinstall any software that u installed so u must have the installation disks or files.