Poor CPU in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by PeterJ, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. PeterJ

    PeterJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Everybody, i have recently installed windows 7 Ultimate x64, i have noticed that when i do a simple task such as open IE the CPU usage jumps to 30 - 40 %, I feel that this is not right. Does anybodyhave any suggestions or advice regarding this subject?.


    PC specs: AMD Phenom II X4 940 processor 3.00 GHZ. RAM: 4GB
     
  2. timsuddaby

    timsuddaby New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    4
    does your motherboard properly support 125 watt cpu.
    Are your motherboard drivers all upto date.
    Is your cpu fan nice and clean I ask this because if the fan is clogged with dust the cpu will work less efficiently.
    Also was this an upgrade or clean install.
    I would also run a full virus and malware scan just in case.
    I run an phenom 2 810 with 4 gig and win 7 home premium and at present I have 5 tabs open in firefox,music playing and downloading an iso and my cpu usage is at 2-3%.
    Please could you supply your full system specs and possibly a screen shot of your running processes.
     
  3. PeterJ

    PeterJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, i have tried a clean install and a virus scan. How can i work out which mother board drivers are required?

    Edit* Here are some screenshots.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #3 PeterJ, Feb 25, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2010
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    If the jump is short enough, e.g. several seconds, then it's normal. It can also be caused by a security system's realtime protection.
     
  5. PeterJ

    PeterJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    the cpu still stys high when using such programs. I am stying to locate drivers for my motherboard.
     
  6. timsuddaby

    timsuddaby New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    4

Share This Page

Loading...