Power Plan information isn't available

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Mgbj1977, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. Mgbj1977

    Mgbj1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all, Im having this problem. My power plan i have set for my computer to go to sleep at 30 minutes. Well it works fine, then after a few days it stops going to sleep. When I check my power plan it tells me power plan information isn't available and wont let me change it. Ok, well I tried a system restore and it started back working properly. Then again after a few days it stopped again. Figured it was updates so turned off auto updates and still same thing. Cannot figure this one out. Anyone else had this problem????
     
  2. sapan

    sapan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i m also facing the same problem..........can anyone help plz........
     
  3. kvedt

    kvedt Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    For error message Power Plan Information is not available - Here's an easy fix that avoids having to go into the Registry and create new values:

    Start Button

    Locate cmd.exe

    Right click on cmd.exe and select Run as Administrator

    At the command prompt enter the following (the space between the two commands, and the minus sign before the second one):

    PowerCfg -RestoreDefaultSchemes

    Reboot

    Your Power Options should now be restored to their original default settings.
     
  4. kvedt

    kvedt Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    </sigh> Well, the approach I described yesterday worked. Yesterday. I was able to edit and save my power plan schemes. But today they're gone again, and running through this procedure did not restore them this time. Guess it's time to dig into the Registry. Sorry about that, Chief.
     

Share This Page

Loading...