Print Management console could not create snap-in

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by betwixt, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there!

    Perhaps anyone any idea? I can't seem to get the print management snap-in to work for some reason? I tried installing/selecting all the administrative tools, but it doesn't help. I keep getting the message "MMC could not create the snap-in" when clicking print management.

    Thanks for the help in advance!
    Regards,
    DM
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Do you get a Specify Print Server box. Are you choose a server or local computer?

    I'm doing this by going to Start > Run,. and typing mmc
     
  3. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply! No, for the printer management console, I just go to Administrative tools, under control panel.
    For the Group Policy editor, I type gpedit.msc in the search bar. In both cases, the mmc console pops up with the error.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Well then try it my way,. see if It errors.

    gpedit.msc is basically for administrative templates

    That';s only one snap-in of the Microsoft management Console.
     
    #4 reghakr, Nov 25, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  5. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then, the MMC opens, but when adding snap-in, under add/remove snap-in, the Group Policy and Print Management snap-ins have folder icons, when adding I get the same error, MMC cannot initialize the snap-in...
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Open Task Manager and kill MMC,. then restart it.

    Did you change any settings in Group Policy,.?

    Did this occur immediately after installing .?

    Do you recall installing any new software or making any other major changes to your machine..?

    Do you have a restore point to go back to?
     
    #6 reghakr, Nov 25, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  7. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks... Tried that. Also, rebooting, reinstalling administrative tools, etc. To no avail.
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Do you have a rester poibt to go back to?
     
  9. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I accidentally didn't read your questions well. Thanks for helping me again :)

    Didn't change anything in group policy
    It did occur immediately after installing
    Don't recall any other major changes, besides, disabling some services, but as to my knowledge, none that the MMC's depend on...

    I have a restore point, but that doesn't help either..

     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    What version of Window7 are you using?
     
  11. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Sure does Drew!
     
  12. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Ultimate.
     
  13. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    How did you do this?
     
  14. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reinstalling I did with a Windows 7 installation disc.
    Administration tools is selectable under Porgrams and Features, Windows Features.
     
  15. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    What type of disk do you have.............

    Student,. OEM,. purchased,. ISO?
     
  16. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    purchased one.
     
  17. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    So yuou put the disk in and navigated to what folder?
     
  18. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Booted from the disk, and installed. Installed drivers, etc, everything works well, except these two mmc's (that I know of).
     
  19. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you perform a "clean" insatll?
     
  20. betwixt

    betwixt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I sure did.
     

Share This Page

Loading...