Problem When Trying to Open a PDF in FireFox

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by cgrim29588, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. cgrim29588

    cgrim29588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    When I go to a web page in FireFox and try to open a PDF I get this:

    I even tried reinstalling FireFox,, but still get the same message help!
     
  2. xiezhoupeng351

    xiezhoupeng351 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think you'd better tell us which PDF tools are you using.
    I have met problems with openning PDF in IE window, and finally found there's some compatibility problem between Adobe Acrobat 8 and IE 8. Now I am using Acrobat 9, it is all OK with IE and Firefox.
     
  3. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    Sounds like an issue with Adobe plugins and using a 64bit version of firefox, rather than the regular 32bit version looking at the directory tree you mention.
     
  4. cgrim29588

    cgrim29588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm using Firefox 3.6.3
     
  5. xiezhoupeng351

    xiezhoupeng351 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    I mean the PDF tools, Adobe Reader or Adobe Acrobat, or others, and which version.
    I know Adobe Acrobat 9 has no compatibility problem with IE 8 or Firefox 3.6.3
     
  6. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321


    One way to try is to copy 'plugins' from "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\" to "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\" - a good chance it'll work as it has for my Firefox portable.


    Also, make sure to install/update Adobe Reader from Adobe official site.
    Adobe - Adobe Reader download - All versions
    ~~~~~~~


    Actually I have a question, do you really have "C:\Program Files (x64)" ? In my 7x64 I have only "Program Files (x86)" and simply "Program Files", but not (x64).
     
  7. cgrim29588

    cgrim29588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm using Adobe Reader 9
     
  8. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    As mentioned by highwayman, Adobe and 64-bit don't mix well with Firefox..
    I'd suggest using Foxit Reader. It also has a firefox/internet explorer plugin and is much similar to Reader.

    This is not an advertisement, just a recommendation ;):D
     
  9. rutherford

    rutherford New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. cgrim29588

    cgrim29588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks the problem is fixed now!
     

Share This Page

Loading...