Problem with Aero

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by quincysw, Apr 19, 2010.

  1. quincysw

    quincysw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I downloaded and installed a agp hotfix driver abd Aero ran perfectly but when I restart my computer it does not work and returns to the normal taskbar.
    Any help would be much appreciated.

    regards

    Brian
     
  2. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    State the PC specs, as aero will not work reliably on low end gear regardless of "hotfixes" if the hardware isn't up to the job. Also which "Hotfix" was used?
     
  3. quincysw

    quincysw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello Highwayman.
    System spec = Windows 7 enterprise 32bit

    Processor. Intel(R)Core(TM)2CPU 4300@1.80GHz(2CPUs)
    Memory. 2048 MB RAM
    Directx. DirectX 11
    Display. ATI Radeon HD3450. Memory 760 mb.
    1280 x 960 (32bit)(75Hz)
    HP L1706 LCD monitor
    main driver. atiu9pag.dll.aticfx32.dllatiumdag.dll
    driver model. WDDM 1.1

    10.3agp_hotfix_vista_win7_32_dd_ccc(0).exe

    I have just downloaded and installed this again and aero is working fine and and Aero detection shows no problems.
    As soon as I restart my computer aero disappears and the taskbar reverts to normal.

    Hope this helps.

    Brian
     
    Super Sarge and (deleted member) like this.
  4. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    ok try install the hotfix froma right click and run as Admin mode... see if it stays working after reboot.
     
  5. quincysw

    quincysw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    sorry tried that but no luck, it also knocks out the catalyst Control Center as well.
     
  6. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    I read a while back that one of the quirks of Aero is that is can sometime fail simply because you havent re-generated the windows index scores after applying a update.... longshot but might be that. Sadly as I'm new to Ati (as of about 3 weeks ago, was Nvidia only for last 8 years or so) I don't know much about the ins & outs of the infamous Ati driver issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...