Problem with system mixer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by przemek, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a problem. My level of master volume in system mixer increases or decreases randomly. Speakers works properly. In "communications tab" (control panel->sound) "do nothing" is on. Sorry for bad english. Please help kurwa !!!
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Are you using a communication device?

    There is a setting to allow other sound producers to control their own volumes. If that is set and that sound happens, it migh be louder or softer that you think it should be.

    To make sure, if you right click the speaker icon then playback devices, select the speakers and click on properties, then the levels tab, you will see a number. Make note of what it is and when you think the level has changed, go back and see what it changed to.

    If you want to keep other utilities from having separate volume controls, right click on the speaker icon and choose Volume Control Options. Check or uncheck options to test.

    Are you running any other mixer?
     
  3. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    "kurwa"

    Nie używaj silnych obraźliwych słów.
     
  4. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set the balance for 50 and it have changed to 72 about 10 minutes later. I don't use any other mixer
     
  5. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Saltglass has a good point, it can be a software (e.g. Winamp kernel streaming) or a device (e.g. TV tuner) that overrides the settings in the sound mixer.

    If you open up the full mixer panel, you can adjust particular sounds, or all of them, depending on what slider you move:

    [​IMG]

    Attach a picture of your sound mixer as shown above.

    Simple Tips: Windows 7 Volume Mixer Enables Quick Access to Sound Settings - the How-To Geek
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Looks like we may need to track down what is changing it.

    Do you have any keyboard keys or mouse settings that might be changing it?

    Does it change if you have no other software running? Some stuff runs in the background, of course, like a network sharing service.

    Do you use homegroups and share media?

    Does it always return to 72? If so, there may be a default setting somewhere and maybe one of the devices as cybercore is pointing out has a default setting.
     
    #6 Saltgrass, Feb 16, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2010
  7. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    thi isn't any other software> I shut up Winamp and any other things
     
  8. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    no i don't have any mouse or keyboard shourtcuts. Yes it change, no other application weren't open (Winamp etc.). No I don't use homegroups and share media. It change randomly for example from 50 to 84, 100 to 13 etc...
     
  9. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Well, did you try other options in Sounds > Communications tab:

    Reduce the volume of other sounds by 80%

    [​IMG]


    Sound Shortcuts - Create - Windows 7 Forums
     
  10. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did it, but it also didn't help me... I'm really pist off, it drow me to mad...
     
  11. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You say you are running Winamp? Maybe it has something running that might be changing it.

    If you mouse over the volume control, it shows the actual number. You may get into a habit of checking it frequently to see if you can track down when it changes.

    The only other thing I might suggest is to open task manager and go through the processes to see if anything might have a possibility of changing the volume.
     
  12. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    in task manager all task processes are good,there is nothing strange. Volume change randomly about 15 minutes
     
  13. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anybody have aby other ideas what can it be? Otherwise I have to do a "format",that option is not very good for me...
     
  14. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If you are going to reinstall, do not format, do a repair install. Basically you just do an upgrade from within Win 7. All your programs and data are maintained. You may have to re-activate.

    I would probably first try uninstalling WinAmp....
     
  15. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did like You said. Winamp was completely removed and I put WIn7 cd nad start "R" (repair system). Nothing happend, everything is alright:(
     
  16. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    This may just be a difference of words, but you need the Install DVD to do a repair install.

    Did you try opening an administrative command window and typing SFC /scannow then hit enter. Maybe some system file needs to be replaced.
     
  17. przemek

    przemek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do like You said. After scanning it shows:Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations. So in theory everything is "OK"
     

Share This Page

Loading...