Processor Problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by lueszu, Sep 7, 2009.

  1. lueszu

    lueszu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi i just instaled RC in my old pc:

    Processor: Intel Pentium D 925 Dual Core, 3.00ghz
    MoBo: ECS 945gzt-m
    Ram: Kinstone 1gb (2x512) 533mhz
    Video: Nvidia GeForce 7200gs 256mb ddr2

    As you can see, its a very basic pc just to navigate and stuff... it reconizes everything, but when i do the windows experience test my processor is rated with 1.8 points...

    I know its a old processor, and its not part of de "core" family, but my single core Mobility Sempron 3400+ 1.8ghz gets 3.5 points.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. textureDnB

    textureDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    6
    are you monitoring your temps at all? I have the identical processor and that rating is definitely low mine receives a 4.6.
    I remember my processor is very bad for losing clock cycles when it get's too hot. You could try to disable Intel Speed Step technology in BIOS but don't do it unless your actively monitoring you temperatures, you could fry your processor.
     
  3. john3347

    john3347 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    36


    I have a Pentium D 830 running at 3 GHz. which earns a performance rating of 4.7. My overall score is determined by a low score of 3.2 earned by the onboard graphics driver. Are you sure you don't have a power supply problem or an overheating problem?
     
  4. textureDnB

    textureDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey John I'm trying to troubleshoot a possibly poor install on my heatsink... What sort of idle/load temps are you seeing with your rig?
     
  5. lueszu

    lueszu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    its not the temperature... the computer isnt slow and i can play all my games (well... the games my cheap cheap and old gpu allows me), just the score... doesnt affect me at all... but still bothers a little :p
     
    #5 lueszu, Sep 7, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2009
  6. textureDnB

    textureDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    6
    maybe something was running when you first ran the windows experience index. Try refreshing the index (small blue text to the right at the bottom of the page.)
     
  7. john3347

    john3347 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    36
    Texture, Here's my processor temps

    I had a couple of screen shots all set to send you when the website came back online. While I was waiting for that to happen, I suffered a massive computer crash (caused by Debian 5 in a dual-boot configuration, not by Windows). The result was having to physically remove the Debian drive from the computer and format and reload "C" drive losing everything that was on the computer. (Debian was on a separate harddrive) Windows System restore could not get rid of GRUB which was blocking Windows from loading nor could Windows Home Server perform a system restore. Well, I have Windows re-loaded now and I will get everything reloaded and configured over the next couple of weeks. XP is going to remain my primary OS for the forseeable future, so I didn't have any critical "stuff" on this computer that got lost.

    To the subject at hand: My processor temp seems to run about 83 degrees C until processor gets to running past like 60% or so. The processor fan is running at 1500 RPM at this temp. It ran as high as 86 degrees C when processing heavily and the processor fan speed increased to 2000 RPM and there was no further temperature increase. I am using the Microsoft supplied processor fan that came boxed with the processor as a kit. It is of note that this processor is advertised as dual core, but PC Wizard only reports a single core temp. PC Wizard on my Core 2 Duo E4600 processor on another computer reports core #1 temp and core #2 temp separately. Hmmmm!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...