Program won't run correctly unless UAC is disabled?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Reciever80, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. Reciever80

    Reciever80 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a program (written by a community member for this game) that hooks into the game itself, and grabs the onscreen text. Now, the program itself works, but only when UAC is disabled. I can run it as administrator, and approve the changes it makes to the computer, however it still won't work unless the UAC is disabled.

    Do any of you guys know what the problem is? When UAC is off, the program does not need administrator priviledges. When the UAC's on, when the program starts up it the UAC makes its appearance and asks if you'd like to allow this program to make changes, and i always click "yes." So I don't understand why, even though i allow it to make changes, it still can't do those changes.

    My friend, the one who showed me it, runs XP and has no problem with it. if you want the link for it, if you need it, i can get you it. It's pretty simple really, just the program and a .DLL file that goes with it.
     
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Did you try running the program as an administrator?
    Joe
     
  3. Reciever80

    Reciever80 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, sorry I thought I mentioned that in the OP. I've run it as administrator, as in right clicked and then "run as administrator". My account is the only account on the computer, so it has all the privileges.
     
  4. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    18
    I am just curious... is the problem solved then?
     
  5. Reciever80

    Reciever80 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, It is not solved. I said I have already tried it with no success. I've right clicked it to run as admin, I've changed the properties and checked off the box that says to always run as admin, and I made the settings for all users for it to run as administrator. It only works when UAC is off.
     
  6. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    18
    Well, if you are the only user of your system, then turn-off the UAC. That's what I have done on my system, besides it's annoying.
     
  7. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    HI

    Yes: Unless you are protecting your system from changes by other users just turn it off.
    As long as you know what you are doing there really isn't a good reason for having it turned on.

    I just got sick of it asking me if I really wanted to do everything that I wanted to do and it does cause issues with some programs.

    If you want to use it you could try using Take Ownership on the .exe file for the program you are trying to run and see if that helps.

    Add "Take Ownership" to Explorer Right-Click Menu in Win 7 or Vista - How-To Geek

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...