Question about Windows 7 and hard drives.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Serantos, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. Serantos

    Serantos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I downloaded and installed Windows 7 and I think it is really awesome! The only 2 problems I have seen so far is that it acts like its behind a firewall even though I have a static IP set up and the ports are properly forwarded.

    The other one, and I'm not sure if there is a workaround or not. I have 2 hard drives, so I made a 60 gig partition on my secondary drive and installed it onto there, so I can dual boot. I can view my entire secondary drive, but for some reason I cannot get to my original C drive from my XP boot. Is there something I can do to make Windows 7 recognize this? I have a lot of music and media on there I would rather not have to transfer to my secondary drive.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    "but for some reason I cannot get to my original C drive from my XP boot"
    Do you mean from your 7 boot?

    If you cannot see a drive/partition, from Windows 7, you will need to mount it. This will probably be sorted with the final release. I have found that if you run the 7 install disk from within Vista/XP, it will automatically mount the other OS from which you installed. However, do this:
    Open the Administrative Tools - Computer Management - Disk management.
    In there, you should find that you can see all the disks and partitions, but they may not have a letter designator. By right clicking them, you can assign a letter and you will then be able to see them in, for example, Windows explorer. You can juggle the letters around by changing and reassigning, but it would be a bit of a pain.
     
    #2 davehc, Dec 30, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2008
  3. Serantos

    Serantos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats it! Thank you so much!
     
  4. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Dave this is not an error in Windows 7. They specifically made it this way for security reasons. It is a good idea so windows just doesnt search out all drives on your computer or companies domain.
     
  5. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Sorry. Didn't we have this exchange before, or was it another poster?
    I find that theory really hard to grasp, for one or two reasons. Could you give me a link to where MS specifically state that, as I would be very interested in reading up something on it.
    I have read quite another theory in the MS forums, which was neither confirmed or denied by MS!
     
    #5 davehc, Dec 30, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2008
  6. hvacmoose

    hvacmoose New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didnot see my second drive there. I see it inthe device manager but not in disk manager. i havve been using ubuntu and it worked great as a storage drive formatted fat32. I have 320Gigs of movies on this drive.
     

Share This Page

Loading...