RAM Issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by climhazzard36, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. climhazzard36

    climhazzard36 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I CAN boot with module A in ANY slot on its own
    I CAN'T boot with module B if its in any slot on its own.
    I suspect module B is broke.

    When:

    No Modules installed: Black screen for 10 seconds then FAIL

    Module A is in slot 1 and B in slot 2 = FAIL TO BOOT
    Module A is in slot 1 and B in slot 3 = FAIL TO BOOT
    Module A is in slot 1 and B in slot 4 = FAIL TO BOOT

    Module B is in slot 1 and A in slot 2 = BOOT
    Module B is in slot 1 and A in slot 3 = BOOT
    Module B is in slot 1 and A iin slot 4 = BOOT

    Module A is in slot 2 and B is in slot 3 = FAIL TO BOOT
    Module B is in slot 2 and A is in slot 3 = FAIL TO BOOT

    Module A in slot 2 and B in slot 4 = FAIL TO BOOT
    Module B in slot 2 and B in slot 4 = FAIL TO BOOT

    Memtest with just A in slot 1 = PASS 100%
    memtest with A in slot 1 and B in slot 3 - PASS 100%

    I am really confused here, any help would be great!
     
    #1 climhazzard36, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  2. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    194
    Hi,

    Could you test stick 1 in each of the slots by it's self. Running memtest86++ for 7 passes for each slot. Once you've done that could you do the same for stick 2.
    If they both pass on their own we'll then try getting it to run with both of them.
     
  3. climhazzard36

    climhazzard36 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is Stick B won't boot on its own, only in the config shown above. However stick A will boot on any slot on its own and has passed memtest.

    By boot I mean I can't even reach the post screen (sorry if I wad unclear)
     
  4. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    194
    Can I have the model number and make of the memory please. Could you also update your bios from GIGABYTE
     
    #4 nmsuk, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  5. climhazzard36

    climhazzard36 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    My BIOS is the most current.

    Also Module B is now refusing to laod in any config, is it possible to pass memtest86 then die shortly afterwards?

    I am running memtest for module A in all slots now to see if it passes.

    still I am rather confused at all of this
     
  6. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    194

Share This Page

Loading...