RAM question

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Kwakazaki, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. Kwakazaki

    Kwakazaki New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have trawled the web and Microsoft's site, but cannot get a definitive answer regards memory for Win 7 32 bit. For XP there was a BIOS switch to make more than the standard available, maxing out at ~3.2Gb. Does that same switch exist under Win 7, or is this now automatically taken care of?

    Many thanks,
     
  2. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    18
    You don't need to worry about a BIOS switch for Windows 7, for a 32-bit version the memory maxes out at 3.2 GB as you stated.

    However, if you have say... 4GB of RAM installed why not just install Windows 7 64-bit version and utilize all of the RAM available?

    Your system will run better and faster plus the bandwidth is double too.
     
  3. Kwakazaki

    Kwakazaki New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks indeed, that is a big help,
    The reason for not upgrading to 64 bit is platform application incompatibilities.... unfortunately...!
    Otherwise we would,
    Best regards,
     

Share This Page

Loading...