RAM Usage

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by JohnJ, Jun 5, 2009.

  1. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    While running Windows 7 my desktop is constantly using 40% of my RAM (2GB RAM total). When I launch Battlefield 2 my RAM consumption jumps to a constant 90-95%. Is there anything I can do to lower the RAM usage? Or would my only option be to upgrade my RAM to 4GB?
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Sounds about right. Of course more RAM will help. Are you using 64bit? A cheaper option would be a USB stick that can do readyboost

    Type services in the start menu and disable the superfetch service, should free up a bit more RAM, I always prefer it on though.
     
  3. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running 32-bit. RAM consumption right now is 861MB, and I'm not running anything except Firefox...
     
  4. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Things like gadgets and aero use a lot of RAM. You could also type msconfig in the start menu and under the startup tab is all the things that startup with Windows. You can remove anything that your computer doesnt need to run from there, just dont remove your antivirus, firewall or the operating system one.

    If it makes you feel better, my RAM usage is at 1800MB right not and Im only using Chrome.
     
  5. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Are there alot of things starting up when Windows starts up? That sounds too high.. One of my pc's has 2GB's of RAM in it and is also running the 32-bit version of the RC and at startup it only consumes about 18%.. When I launch Half Life 2 it still only consumes about 60-70%.. (Of course the amount a game consumes will differ depending on the game)

    I always run msconfig and untick everything under the startup tab that isn't absolutely necessary.. That helps a bit.. ;)

    Even on idle the PC I speak of only consumes about 18-24%.. :)

    The numbers on my main pc are a little bit higher but that's to be expected due to the fact that I'm running alot more on it.. Though it has 8GB's so the high consumption numbers aren't a problem on that rig.... hehe :)
     
  6. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Do you have superfetch and prefetch on or off out of interest?
     
  7. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Both are at default settings... :) I've actually never bothered messing with either even in Windows Vista.. ;)
     
  8. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    I turned superfetch off but it didn't change anything. Still using way too much RAM. This is rediculous. I can't even play a game because it lags so badly.
     
  9. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    There has to be a process running that's eating it up.. ;) Have you checked msconfig to see what all is starting up when you boot Win 7?
     
  10. confused

    confused New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    6
    cpu is probably a major factor. pentium 4 ect are a lot slower and freeze easier than say an intel or amd quad core for gaming.
     
  11. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Did you restart? Are you able to post us a screen of the processes tab of you task manager? Sorting them by memory will help us.
     
  12. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running the following specs:

    - AMD Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz
    - 2GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM
    - NVIDIA 9800GTX+ 512MB DDR3

    It's definitely not my CPU.
     
  13. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    You should definitely buy more RAM ;)
     
  14. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    More ram certainly would be a good thing.. but there's definitely something more to this.. The numbers shouldn't be that high with 2GB's of RAM.. ;)
     
  15. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I plan to upgrade to the following:

    - Phenom II X4 940 3.0Ghz
    - 4GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM

    Quick question: should I remain using the 32-bit version of Windows 7 once I upgrade to 4GB or should I upgrade to the 64-bit edition?

    Screenshots attached
     
  16. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    That all depends on what you do with your pc in my opinion.. ;) It certainly can be worth the switch but like I said, depending on what you do it can also not be worth it at all for some people.. ;)

    If your going to upgrade to 4GB's of ram though I'd suggest making the switch if for nothing else but being able to use the entire 4GB's of RAM.. :) Driver/Software compatibility has come a long way since Windows XP Pro 64-bit, and it's only getting better each day...
     
  17. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mainly use my PC for gaming, which is why I need all the resources I can get.
     
  18. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Those numbers still look fine to me, nothing obvious using heaps of RAM. You could also turn of search indexer I guess.

    My usual answer to the x86/x64 question is, if your CPU supports x64 then yes you should use an x64 OS
     
  19. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Than yes I'd say go for it! Make the switch.. More and more games are starting to take advantage of a 64-bit OS.. ;)
     
  20. JohnJ

    JohnJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    So there's nothing I can do to lower the RAM usage? I never had this problem with XP. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...