Random Blue Screen Crash/restart

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by spogglenose, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. spogglenose

    spogglenose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    I have just got a brand new laptop (MSI GX660R) delivered 1 week ago and literally from day one it has had random crashes. It is very strange though because the crashes only seem to happen when I am watching a video on tudou.com but not youtube. Basically after watching for about 10 mins a blue screen comes up and it restarts too quickly for me to red what it says has gone wrong. I have updated the graphics driver since I thought it was a graphics issue due to the fact that one crash and restart gave me windows in low res which crashed again about 10 seconds after I logged in anf then went back to normal :confused:. Anyway here is the dump files created and the error codes from when it says windows recovered from an unexpected shutdown. Thanks in advance for any help with this weird problem

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 2057

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 1000007e
    BCP1: FFFFFFFFC0000005
    BCP2: FFFFF880010F5523
    BCP3: FFFFF88003748778
    BCP4: FFFFF88003747FE0
    OS Version: 6_1_7600
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hi there, welcome.

    Please post a screen shot of CPU-Z spd and memory tabs. You can attach the jpegs directly. There is likely a bios setting or a few, unwell.

    For now, also update Realtek lan driver:

    Rt64win7 Rt64win7.sys Fri Nov 27 04:45:07 2009

    RTL8111
     
  3. spogglenose

    spogglenose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the fast response! I'm not sure how to find out the CPU-Z spd and mem tabs but ill update the realtek driver asap.
     
  4. spogglenose

    spogglenose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the link

    Attached are the JPEG's and in them you should be able to see the device manager with the realtek network adapter shown which I updated assuming that it is the LAN one. If not then where can I find it. I know some stuff but obviously my knowledge is very lacking lol.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Mem.
      Mem.jpg
      File size:
      381.2 KB
      Views:
      850
    • SPD.
      SPD.jpg
      File size:
      398.8 KB
      Views:
      211
  5. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Right on, memory is set completely wrong in the bios.

    Go there and Load the Optimized Defaults. Post a new screen shot of the memory tab. Hopefully it will be set well then and if not, you'll have to configure it manually.
     
  6. spogglenose

    spogglenose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    So restart and go into bios to load optimised defaults. Awsome I will give this a try right away.
     
  7. spogglenose

    spogglenose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok then thats all done and here is the mem tab. Was worried for a second as it came up with no operating system found and was only on the 4th boot location that windows loaded!!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Hello,

    I think it's a good idea to run a Video Stress Test since few crashes are pointing to ATI Display drivers as well

    FurMark: Graphics Card Stability and Stress Test, OpenGL Benchmark and GPU Temperature | oZone3D.Net


    FurMark Setup:
    - If you have more than one GPU, select Multi-GPU during setup
    - In the Run mode box, select "Stability Test" and "Log GPU Temperature"
    Click "Go" to start the test
    - Run the test until the GPU temperature maxes out - or until you start having problems (whichever comes first).
    - Click "Quit" to exit

    Try this free stress test: Free Software - GIMPS


    Prime95 Setup:
    - extract the contents of the zip file to a location of your choice
    - double click on the executable file
    - select "Just stress testing"
    - select the "Blend" test. If you've already run MemTest overnight you may want to run the "Small FFTs" test instead.
    - "Number of torture test threads to run" should equal the number of CPU's times 2 (if you're using hyperthreading).
    The easiest way to figure this out is to go to Task Manager...Performance tab - and see the number of boxes under CPU Usage History
    Then run the test for 6 to 24 hours - or until you get errors (whichever comes first).
    The Test selection box and the stress.txt file describes what components that the program stresses.

    Bughceck:

    Code:
    SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M (1000007e)
    This is a very common bugcheck.  Usually the exception address pinpoints
    the driver/function that caused the problem.  Always note this address
    as well as the link date of the driver/image that contains this address.
    Some common problems are exception code 0x80000003.  This means a hard
    coded breakpoint or assertion was hit, but this system was booted
    /NODEBUG.  This is not supposed to happen as developers should never have
    hardcoded breakpoints in retail code, but ...
    If this happens, make sure a debugger gets connected, and the
    system is booted /DEBUG.  This will let us see why this breakpoint is
    happening.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: ffffffffc0000005, The exception code that was not handled
    Arg2: fffff88005a89cad, The address that the exception occurred at
    Arg3: fffff880079059b8, Exception Record Address
    Arg4: fffff88007905220, Context Record Address
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at "0x%08lx" referenced memory at "0x%08lx". The memory could not be "%s".
    
    FAULTING_IP: 
    atikmdag+267cad
    fffff880`05a89cad 48894808        mov     qword ptr [rax+8],rcx
    
    EXCEPTION_RECORD:  fffff880079059b8 -- (.exr 0xfffff880079059b8)
    ExceptionAddress: fffff88005a89cad (atikmdag+0x0000000000267cad)
       ExceptionCode: c0000005 (Access violation)
      ExceptionFlags: 00000000
    NumberParameters: 2
       Parameter[0]: 0000000000000000
       Parameter[1]: ffffffffffffffff
    Attempt to read from address ffffffffffffffff
    
    CONTEXT:  fffff88007905220 -- (.cxr 0xfffff88007905220)
    rax=57fd3a610b3358f4 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=fffffa8009a4a8b0
    rdx=fffffa8009a4a740 rsi=0000000000000004 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=fffff88005a89cad rsp=fffff88007905bf8 rbp=cccccccccccccccd
     r8=fffffa8009a43020  r9=0000000000000140 r10=fffffa8009a4a740
    r11=0000000000000000 r12=00003474d4d0ac6f r13=0000000000002f8c
    r14=0000000000000020 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na pe nc
    cs=0010  ss=0018  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010202
    atikmdag+0x267cad:
    fffff880`05a89cad 48894808        mov     qword ptr [rax+8],rcx ds:002b:57fd3a61`0b3358fc=????????????????
    Resetting default scope
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    
    ERROR_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at "0x%08lx" referenced memory at "0x%08lx". The memory could not be "%s".
    
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER1:  0000000000000000
    
    EXCEPTION_PARAMETER2:  ffffffffffffffff
    
    READ_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from fffff800030c50e0
     ffffffffffffffff 
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    atikmdag+267cad
    fffff880`05a89cad 48894808        mov     qword ptr [rax+8],rcx
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x7E
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff88005a89e47 to fffff88005a89cad
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`07905bf8 fffff880`05a89e47 : fffffa80`09a57670 fffff880`05df65a0 00000000`00000027 00000000`00001f38 : atikmdag+0x267cad
    fffff880`07905c00 fffffa80`09a57670 : fffff880`05df65a0 00000000`00000027 00000000`00001f38 00000000`000041ed : atikmdag+0x267e47
    fffff880`07905c08 fffff880`05df65a0 : 00000000`00000027 00000000`00001f38 00000000`000041ed fffff880`05a873f2 : 0xfffffa80`09a57670
    fffff880`07905c10 00000000`00000027 : 00000000`00001f38 00000000`000041ed fffff880`05a873f2 fffff880`05df65a0 : atikmdag+0x5d45a0
    fffff880`07905c18 00000000`00001f38 : 00000000`000041ed fffff880`05a873f2 fffff880`05df65a0 cccccccc`cccccccd : 0x27
    fffff880`07905c20 00000000`000041ed : fffff880`05a873f2 fffff880`05df65a0 cccccccc`cccccccd 00000000`00000004 : 0x1f38
    fffff880`07905c28 fffff880`05a873f2 : fffff880`05df65a0 cccccccc`cccccccd 00000000`00000004 00000000`00000000 : 0x41ed
    fffff880`07905c30 fffff880`05df65a0 : cccccccc`cccccccd 00000000`00000004 00000000`00000000 fffff880`03163180 : atikmdag+0x2653f2
    fffff880`07905c38 cccccccc`cccccccd : 00000000`00000004 00000000`00000000 fffff880`03163180 00000000`00004d78 : atikmdag+0x5d45a0
    fffff880`07905c40 00000000`00000004 : 00000000`00000000 fffff880`03163180 00000000`00004d78 0000000e`0000017c : 0xcccccccc`cccccccd
    fffff880`07905c48 00000000`00000000 : fffff880`03163180 00000000`00004d78 0000000e`0000017c 00000003`00002f8c : 0x4
    
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  0
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  atikmdag+267cad
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: atikmdag
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  atikmdag.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4c21766c
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  .cxr 0xfffff88007905220 ; kb
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x7E_atikmdag+267cad
    
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x7E_atikmdag+267cad
    
    Followup: MachineOwner

    Hope this helps,
    Captain
     
  9. spogglenose

    spogglenose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    Thanks for the extra advice! Just wondering there is only a 32 bit version of FurMark and I have 64bit. Is that an issue or should I just go ahead?
     
  10. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    You have to set the RAM manually in the bios with the specs 667 MHz, 9-9-9-24 timings then save.

    There's nothing wrong with video.

    Those video crashes are caused by improper bios settings as shown above.
     
  11. spogglenose

    spogglenose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I will try the memory change first as its quicker then a 6 hour stress test. How do I change the RAM in the BIOS as I couldnt find any option for memory in it just the load optimal defauts.
     
  12. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Seems you can not adjust the memory settings on that model, as I just checked the manual. I would run Memtest86+ on it 8-10 passes to see if errors show.

    If any do, you have no choice but to return the machine to the retailer or MSI for replacement or refund.
     
  13. spogglenose

    spogglenose New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks very much for all the help. It is running Memtest now and I will report back the results.
     
  14. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Very well....

    If after 8-10 passes are well, then run Driver Sweeper from my link in safe mode to clear ATI driver and settings.

    Reboot and install the latest video driver from MSI's site for your model.

    Phyxion.net | Driver Sweeper | Products | Products
     

Share This Page

Loading...