Random BSOD for the past several months

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Jeremy Hellpop, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. Jeremy Hellpop

    Jeremy Hellpop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    About 4 months ago I made several changes to my computer, upgrading the motherboard, CPU and graphics card. Ever since then I've gotten frequent BSODs. Sometimes I get them repeatedly, other times I'll go days without any problems.

    I've tried updating all the drivers I can, with no luck. Any help is appreciated. I've attached the most recent .dmp files.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Welcome.

    Please follow my signature in its entirety.
     
  3. Jeremy Hellpop

    Jeremy Hellpop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've attached the CPU-Z screenshots. Also uninstalled Damon and SPTD. Thanks again.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    You didn't post the memory tab at all, but yep, you needed to remove DT/SPTD. So I can't say if your RAM is an issue yet or not.

    Sure thing, you're welcome.
     
  5. Jeremy Hellpop

    Jeremy Hellpop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dangit, sorry. Here you go.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Looks good. It's underclocked in that screen shot but when you do something that needs computing power, it raises to its nominal frequency. Normal, standard operation and all is well. The machine should be fine now. Enjoy.
     
  7. Jeremy Hellpop

    Jeremy Hellpop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, I'm having the same problem, and it seems to be happening more frequently. Do you think it's a RAM problem? I haven't upgraded the memory in quite awhile, so wondering if I just need to swap the chis out for a couple of new ones.
     
  8. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Attach your most recent crash dumps so we can see your progress, if DT was removed or not.

    Update Atheros Wireless:

    Code:
    athrx.sys    Mon Oct 05 12:33:57 2009
    Driver for Atheros CB42/CB43/MB42/MB43 Network Adapter

    Check the hardware clocks as this is most likely the case.
     
  9. Jeremy Hellpop

    Jeremy Hellpop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are the most recent dump files.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    RAM is defective and needs to be entirely replaced with a new matching set.

    This is the conclusive proof:

    Code:
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1E_c0000005
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  msseces.exe
    
    Good luck with the RMA or new hardware purchase.
     
  11. Jeremy Hellpop

    Jeremy Hellpop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, that's pretty much what I was suspecting. The RAM is the one thing I haven't upgraded in the last 6 months or so (it's been several years, actually), so it's long overdue.

    Thanks everyone who replied! Glad I found this forum!
     

Share This Page

Loading...