Random BSOD

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by wetech, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. wetech

    wetech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    New build, details as follows:
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
    CPU: Phenom II X4 955BE
    RAM: 4x2GB ADATA DDR3 1333 (Model: AXDU1333EB2G9-2G)
    GPU: Asus Geforce GTX460 1GB
    HD: 64GB ADATA S599 SSD

    BIOS was updated to latest version after building rig.

    Memory.PNG SPD.PNG
    View attachment MiniDump.zip

    Running Home Premium 64

    After putting this together, things ran ok for a few days, then I started getting some random BSOD, KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED. Tried Prime 95, and got some errors after about an hour. Ran MemTest without errors overnight, 6-8 passes (can't remember how many)

    I did a fresh install of Windows and everything worked fine. Prime95 ran without issues overnight. Now the BSOD have started up again. Can't remember if I had installed anything just prior to them starting up.

    Woke up the other morning to find the computer at the BSOD (0x1E). After rebooting, Windows wouldn't start, claiming a corrupt Hal.dll. I tried running a repair install from the DVD, but the install program didn't recognize my SSD with the Windows install on it. Rebooted and tried to go to the BIOS, and the computer hung trying to go to the BIOS (this one scared me, bad MB maybe?). Hard reboot, and everything worked fine. Windows started, no need for a repair install.

    I then downloaded all the latest drivers for anything I could find:
    NIC
    Audio
    SATA Controllers
    USB Controllers
    GPU was already up to date.

    The second dump (0x3B) occurred after I crashed to desktop while gaming, and tried to restart the computer. The BSOD happened right after hitting restart.

    The only thing that I'm not really sure about is the RAM. It's low voltage memory, rated for 1.33v, but the MB will only go as low as 1.5v. My google skills didn't turn up any real issues with doing so.
     
    #1 wetech, Dec 18, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Welcome....

    Memory is set well with respect to timings, frequency and voltage.

    Memory is definitely the issue here.

    It is defective.

    Replace the entire RAM with brand new matching set and enjoy.
     
    #2 TorrentG, Dec 18, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  3. wetech

    wetech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply. see edit (added memtest / prime95 info). Despite memtest not reporting anything, I was suspecting RAM as well.
     
  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Yep, you're welcome. No need to suspect. 100% definite. Good luck with the new hardware after RMA or new purchase.
     

Share This Page

Loading...