Random BSOD

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by laughmaster, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having real bad random BSOD when I had vista, so I installed windows 7 ult. However I am still having the same random BSODs. But it runs fine in safemode, I would saty like that but I can not play some games and have no sound so I would like to get to the bottom of this. But I am not sure where to start. I did disable the video and audio drivers in system manager but got the BSOD again. I am not sure where else to start. But lie I said, things run fine in safe mode. Thank you for any advice you can give me in this matter.
     
  2. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh I forgot, I also thought it might have been the built in network adapter so I installed one. But still got the errors. I know BSOD dumps a text file but I do not know where.
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    laughmaster:
    Hello and welcome to the forums.
    You need to read the following three sticky threads at the root of the BSODforum.
    How to ask for help with a BSOD problem we'll need thecontents of your C:\Windows\minidump folder or at least a few of your mostrecent .dmp files. Create a new folder on you desktop and copy and paste themthere.
    SF Diagnostic Tool - Collect files requires to TroubleshootBSOD download the tool and right click it and choose run as administrator.
    Important! Every thread starter please see. follow theinstruction for CPU-z include SPD tab snips for all populated slots and export the html report from RAMMon to the new folder on your desktop.
    Once you've acumulated the information place everything into the new folder onyour desktop, right click it and choose send to "Compressed Folder",then attach that to your next post.
    Any thing further, please ask.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  4. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the quick reply. I will follow your directions some time tomorrow and post the data you need.
     
  5. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I am back. First I downloaded CPUZ but there is nothing listed in the spd or memory areas except the size and that is listed as 2048 so I see no reason to include the screen shots of that. But I think I have everything else I need. I am attaching the zipped file like I was told to.View attachment Seven Forums.zip

    I hope i did everything right and I look forward to hearing from any of you.
     
  6. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    Hi and welcome to the forum.

    You don't seem to have service pack 1 installed. Can you install that and then do a windows update please. while you do that I'll look through your .dmp files :)

    Could you install Microsoft security Essentials
     
    #6 nmsuk, Aug 3, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2011
  7. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK going to download both and install. Hope I can do this all in safe mode since regular mode is so unstable for me.
     
  8. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the security thing but can not install SP1 because I keep getting BSOD during install. Any tips?
     
  9. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    Can you upload the .dmp from that bsod please.
     
  10. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure thing. The last dump file is attatched. Just wish I knew what to open it with to view it. Bet I could not read it anyways. I am pretty good with computers, but when it comes to the BSOD I am lost.View attachment 080311-66971-01.dmp

    Thanks again ahead of time and for all the help you have given so far.
     
  11. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    Can you get Temperature readings from your P4? The last bsod was a stop 0x7F_8 which is a Processor error. A couple of question is the P4 overclocked at all? Could you also supply the make and model of your motherboard please.

    WinDbg the microsoft windows debugger from the windows 7 SDK :)
     
  12. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, not overclocked. I have never had a reason to do that.Motherboard is biostar p4m900-m4 if memory serves me correctly. What program can I use to get the temp. I only know that I can view the temp in bios and that would be under no load so I figure you want it from a windows load.
     
  13. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    Coretemp if you don't mind :)
     
  14. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Odd says "this intel processor not supported. This program will not continue." when I try to run coretemp 0.99.8.
     
  15. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    Try Real Temp for intel cpu's
     
  16. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Honorable Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    115
    Just a passing thought or two.

    You need to update this driver e100b325.sys.

    How To Find Drivers:
    - - The most common drivers are listed on this page: Driver Reference Driver Reference
    - - Driver manufacturer links are on this page: Drivers and Downloads

    You might well fix the problem by updating to SP-1
     
  17. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I did not get back to you sooner. It took me a while to figure out that the temp program would not run in safe mode and then getting the computer to run in regular mode long enough to get the temps. The temps are as follows.

    CPU 172-192 f
    Hard drive 112 f
    Video 130s f

    These are all temps that are under basically no lode what so ever. Just windows running with weatherbug and the temp program.

    I will now go look into what you said in your post since I have not read it completely yet. But I can not run SP1 setup long enough to install it since I can not run it in safe mode.

    Thank you for all your help you have been giving.
     
  18. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    Looking at your temps their too hot at 192F/89c

    Can you check your cooling as those temperatures are smoe whaat on the hot side. Just to clarify was the computer mostly idle at those temps?
    I found this post on another forum

    All credit goes to j1mbo on the computing.net forum.
     
  20. laughmaster

    laughmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes that was mostly idle temps. I now have some thermal paste on order. It seemed really high to me but i never thought about the temps before. Case temp should be OK, around 85F. I have 3 fans and then the power supply fan too. I think this thread can go idle a bit until the paste arrives around Monday or Tuesday. Thank you for your help and I will report back when I have the paste applied.
     

Share This Page

Loading...