Random Freezing

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by conb123, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. conb123

    conb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I am getting really irritated with windows 7 now it just randomly freezes all the time. It works in safe mode i'm pretty sure. I thought this may be due to the resolution, maybe because my graphics card is incompatible, but i tried starting up with a low reolution in normal mode and again freezing this is really making me angry now. Here is my system info, ignore the fact it says running linux :)

    System information report, generated by Sysinfo: 28/10/2009 22:28:22
    Sysinfo | Get Sysinfo at SourceForge.net

    SYSTEM INFORMATION
    Running Ubuntu Linux, the 5.0 release.
    GNOME: 2.26.1 (Ubuntu 2009-05-06)
    Kernel version: 2.6.28-16-generic (#55-Ubuntu SMP Tue Oct 20 19:48:24 UTC 2009)
    GCC: 4.3.3 (i486-linux-gnu)
    Xorg: unknown (09 March 2009 10:48:54AM) (09 March 2009 10:48:54AM)
    Hostname: connor-desktop
    Uptime: 0 days 1 h 8 min

    CPU INFORMATION
    GenuineIntel, Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz
    Number of CPUs: 2
    CPU clock currently at 2400.000 MHz with 2048 KB cache
    Numbering: family(15) model(6) stepping(5)
    Bogomips: 5998.65
    Flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est cid cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm

    MEMORY INFORMATION
    Total memory: 3276 MB
    Total swap: 5577 MB

    STORAGE INFORMATION
    SCSI device - scsi0
    Vendor: TSSTcorp
    Model: CDDVDW SH-S202H
    SCSI device - scsi0
    Vendor: ATAPI
    Model: DVD D DH16D2P
    SCSI device - scsi1
    Vendor: ATA
    Model: ST3250823AS

    HARDWARE INFORMATION

    #Foxconn 945g7ma-8ks2h
    MOTHERBOARD
    Host bridge
    Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device 0cc0
    PCI bridge(s)
    Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
    Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1) (prog-if 01)
    ISA bridge
    Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device 0cc0
    IDE interface
    Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 01) (prog-if 80 [Master])
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device 0cc0

    GRAPHIC CARD
    VGA controller
    ATI Technologies Inc RV570 [Radeon X1950 Pro]
    Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Device 0b12

    SOUND CARD
    Multimedia controller
    Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device 0cc0

    NETWORK
    Network controller
    RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
    Subsystem: RaLink Device 2561
    Ethernet controller
    Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5788 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 03)
    Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device 0c2d

    Oh also i had aero enabled, the upgrade advisor told me that aero is nt supported but it worked as soon as i first installed it, will disabling it make any difference, oh and also i have the catalyst 9.10 raedon driver installed.
     
    #1 conb123, Oct 28, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2009
  2. mdmower

    mdmower New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try removing your RALink card

    Try removing your RALink based wireless card.

    I have two Win7 x64 computers running two different wireless cards (acutally one PCI card, the other USB) based on RALink chipsets. Even with the latest drivers from RALink Drivers both machines would randomly freeze. When I uninstalled the drivers and removed the devices from the systems, the freezing stopped.

    This was using the driver dated 9/25/2009 for USB (RT2870 /RT2770 /RT307X /RT2070 /RT3572), and the driver dated 8/24/2009 for PCI/mPCI/CB (RT256x/RT266x).
     
  3. conb123

    conb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought that might be it, damn how am i supposed to use wireless now, i suppose it's back to old school ether for me then (in windows 7 anyway).
     
  4. mdmower

    mdmower New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please let me know if this turns out to be the culprit for you as well. I'm not sure if either RALink or Microsoft realizes the drivers for these RALink chipsets are still unstable.
     
  5. conb123

    conb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure thing, gotta reinstall now so might be a day or so though. I got annoyed with it and removed it :)
     
  6. conb123

    conb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, took a lot longer than i expected, I think it may be fixed now (fingers crossed), i disabled apic in my bios and it seems to be running very well, even with the railink card plugged in and enabled, so for future reference if anyone has a foxconn 945g7ma mobo try disabling apic :D
     
  7. mdmower

    mdmower New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the update. What RALink driver version are you using? Perhaps I should give your version a try.
     
  8. conb123

    conb123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh it's just the version i got on my cd, i shall pm you a cd rip :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...