Windows Vista ReadyBoost Flash Drive...Stumped

The007Fanatic

Hi, this is my first time vising these forums but I wanted to see if anyone has experienced anything like this. I'm running Vista Home Premium and this behavior has occurred on both RC1 and this final release. Basically I'm stumped and don't have a solution for myself. I have a PNY flash drive and a Corsair flash drive. The PNY is the only one eligible for ReadyBoost. When the PNY is plugged in I get the "Safely Remove Hardware" icon in the tray but never get that when I plug the Corsair in. If Readyboost is enabled on the PNY and I reboot the system, the readyboost file disappears completely but I can still access the USB drive and re-enable it. If I shut down, hibernate, or sleep the system with ReadyBoost enabled, when I return to Windows the next day or whatever the safely remove icon still shows and so does the PNY drive in Explorer. But if I try to open the drive it says "I need to format the drive before I can use it." Only I can't format it as it fails every time and my only option is to Safely Remove the drive and plug it back in. Doing that brings back everything including the readyboost file. I've tried "optimize for quick removal" and "optimize for performance" in device manager and nothing changed. However if I don't have readyboost enabled on the drive, it seems to be readable and everything even after a shut down or hibernation. I'm just wondering if there is a compatibility issue with my drive and Vista and if I bought another USB drive that was readyboost compatible would it do the same thing to me? I just want to keep the USB drive plugged into the back at all times and not worry about it if that's at all possible.

This is a tricky problem. Hopefully I can assist you with it. I've only had one jumpdrive and so far its worked great. Keep in mind I only support win2k and no other windows OS, heh.