Realtek HD Audio Problem!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by XilitoN, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. XilitoN

    XilitoN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    So... I just downloaded Realtek AC'97 Driver. But then I try to install it it says "Rtkvac.sys missing".
    I run Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7600 please help!:frown:
     
  2. Athlonite

    Athlonite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    10
    and your post heading says " Realtek HD Audio Problem!" not realtek AC97 audio problem

    If you onboard Audio is infact an realtek HD audio chip you need to go here

    Realtek

    click the tick box and then next once the page reloads and download this

    Vista, Windows7 Driver(32/64 bits) Driver only (Executable file) R2.42 2010/2/12 54813k

    If you have an realtek AC97 chip onboard then you need this download

    Realtek

    and do as above and get this file

    Vista/Win7 (32/64 bits) Driver only (ZIP file) 6305 2009/9/7 30396k
     
  3. XilitoN

    XilitoN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done that several times but it still not working... I've also tried to re in stall the driver and update it, still not working!
     
    #3 XilitoN, Feb 14, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Rtkvac.sys is the driver left-over. You may need to use Driver Sweeper.

    1. Disable your Antivirus/Security software
    2. Uninstall your Realtek sound driver
    3. Reboot
    4. Disable your Antivirus/Security software
    5. Control Panel > System > Device Manasger
    6. Locate your Realtek HD audio device, right-click it and completely remove it
    7. Reboot
    8. Download and install the right driver for your audio device, I understand it is Realtek.
    9. Reboot your pc now
     
  5. XilitoN

    XilitoN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, will try it.
     
  6. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Whether these steps help or not, please leave your feedback.
     
  7. XilitoN

    XilitoN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help but unffortunatly it didnt work. :frown:
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,836
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Have you tried windows update? Sometimes it finds stuff that is actually useful lol..
     
  9. XilitoN

    XilitoN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i have tried to find updates, tryed to update the driver but it's up to date...
    so i have no idea what i should do
     
  10. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    unninstall any resident shields you might have such as bullguard or any firewall or AV then try the install , If you need an AV use MSE temporarily ;)
     
  11. Digerati

    Digerati Fantastic Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    159
    I think I would try Safe Mode first before going so far as uninstalling your security programs. And of course, if using Windows Firewall, you won't be able to uninstall that. I do like MSE however, and have moved all my Win7 systems to MSE and WF and have had no problems, and have no problems recommending that combination of AM/FW programs for most users. So if you are going to uninstall all your security protection, leaving you fully exposed, I urge you to first download MSE (or your another good AM of choice), disconnect from the network/Internet - unplug your Ethernet cable or disable your wireless access. Then, and only then, uninstall your anti-malware and take down your firewall. Install MSE and bring up your firewall before reconnecting.

    Personally, before messing with hardware drivers, I like to know what hardware I'm dealing with and what the drivers are for. So what are we working on here? Please provide the maker and model number of your motherboard, or if a factory made PC, the maker and model number of the computer. Does your hardware even have these devices? If there is on-board sound, it surely has AC'97 for basic audio, but HD is not a given.

    Why are we doing this? Did your audio suddenly stop working? Maybe we should be looking there first. Normally you don't need to install new drivers if everything is working well, and there is no security need to update them.

    That said, did you install the drivers from the motherboard's utility disk? Did you go out to the motherboard (or PC) maker's site and use the drivers from there? Did you enable the device in the BIOS Setup Menu?
     
  12. XilitoN

    XilitoN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, but Safe Mode didn't work :(

    But please continue with help!
     
  13. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Could you check it again and tell us the exact full name of your audio card, it is very important to know what driver to look for.


    + Try post 4 again:

     
  14. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    have you tried unninstalling your AV replacing with MSE then attempting an install as I suggested here ?
     
  15. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    Your device software may be designed for DIGITAL input and output. Look for the Realtek application under Control Panel -> Programs and UNINSTALL IT. Use the Microsoft Compatibility driver for sound. This is a problem on newer boards, particularly Gigabyte boards.
     
  16. XilitoN

    XilitoN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the problem is that when i'm going to check that it's empty...
     
  17. odin24seven

    odin24seven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you are using ac97 then you need to disable your realtek HD driver in your hardware.
     
  18. odin24seven

    odin24seven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    ps. this is what I had to do and it works
     
  19. XilitoN

    XilitoN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please give more information on how to uninstall it.
     
  20. odin24seven

    odin24seven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    you dont need to uninstall. you just need to disable it. right click on mycomputer and goto properties. click on hardware and click on device manager click the + on sound, video and gamecontrollers. you will see realtek HD audion right click on it and click disable. this worked for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...