Red X Wireless Not Working

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by esema, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. esema

    esema New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suddenly lost my Wireless today on my Gateway laptop. I can access the router via ethernet cable and the network works perfectly however I have a Red X on the Internet Access icon on the taskbar and there are no networks detected. Adapter is on via the switch on the keyboard and the LED light is on. Device Manager says Marvell Topdog Adapter is OK.

    I searched and tried various fixes but nothing works. Windows 7 Ultimate OS.

    Here is the ipconfig:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Gateway-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell TOPDOG (TM) PCI-Express 802.11n Wireless (EC85)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-44-87-93-27
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-E4-77-DC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{273FD152-2BEB-4EF5-84AC-5FCF59F4AF13}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Brand new to forum...I need help :sad_smile:
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It looks like a lot of the info is missing in your attachment. Did you remove that or is it all the comes up with the ipconfig command?

    Did anything happen that might have effected your connection?

    Have you tried resetting the router and your computer?
     
  3. esema

    esema New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is the full content of my ipconfig. it does seem to be missing a lot of info. Router is working and wireless to another computer on the router is perfect. I tried System Restore with no luck. Disabled ESET and firewall no luck. Uninstalled drivers. Reinstalled and updated them with no luck. It is unable to detect ANY wireless networks. I'm stumped.
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It looks like because the wireless adapter is shown, it is enabled.

    What type of signal strength are you getting?

    Have you checked your settings against what is on the other wireless computer?
     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    With the Media State showing Disconnected that is pretty much all you are going to get in ipconfig /all
    It seems that in many instances that Gateway laptops have both a physical switch as well as a combination of the Fn key and F2. Make sure that both the switch is in the On position and that you use the Function Key + F2 to turn it on.
    Additionally double check the driver Advanced settings to make sure that there is not a Radio On/Off setting that has been set by default to Off, by a driver update/uninstall/reinstall.
    Click the start orb and type
    ncpa.cpl
    and hit enter
    select then right click the problem wireless adapter and choose properties
    Click the Configure button
    Select the Advanced tab and look for something like attachment
     
    #5 Trouble, Jan 14, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  6. esema

    esema New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wireless adapter is enabled. Physical switch is on. F2 lights blue LED. The LED is not as bright as HD blue LED. No networks detected. Red X on taskbar signal strength icon. Troubleshooting indicated wireless is not turned on. Only radio setting on advanced driver tab is "Radio off if disconnected" with value set to "0". Tried resetting value to "1" and it disabled the wireless adapter.
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    How about the wired adapter can you test just to make sure (confirm) that the issue is not with Windows 7 networking (winsock or TCP/IP Stack).
    What router (wireless are you using) have you tested at another location (hotspot, coffee house, McDonalds, friends, relative, neighbors)
    Have you tried to boot into safe mode with networking (F8 key as computer is starting up) just to see if the problem persists.
    Have you tried completely rebooting the network?
    Have you tried changing the wireless channel?
     
  8. esema

    esema New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    First off...Thanks so much for trying to help. Ethernet cable connected works perfect. Router tests perfect and works wireless to other computers. Wireless does not locate any networks in any location. Swapped with another internal wireless adapter and no networks found. Same result (Red X) in Safe Mode. Changed wireless network channel. I don't know how to completely reboot the network.
     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It seems I get a red x on my wireless icon for two reasons. If I disable the adapter or if I turn it off using the Fn+F2 keys on my Dell. If you open the network adapter panel (ncpa.cpl) it will show you if the adapter is disabled or turned off.

    So, what does your wireless adapter show in the Network Adapter control panel? Are there any messages, like disabled or Not connected?

    If you need another way to get to the panel, use the Network and Sharing Center and the Adapters option on the upper left.

    This behavior occurs on a system where the wireless works normally. If you adapter is not installed correctly, or missing a driver, or the antenna wire has come loose from the card it may behave differently.
     
  10. esema

    esema New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    ncpa.cpl indicates "Wireless Network Connection Not connected" with a red X. I'm thinking this could be a bad physical switch or a shorted path on the motherboard. The dim LED wireless indicator could be a symptom.

    Is there a way to check the physical switch?
     
  11. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Have you tried changing its position of the switch and turn it to off? Does it make a difference?

    I will check for you computer model number (if you have given it) but you do not have a keyboard key sequence to turn the adapter on or off? There are no Broadcast (antenna) type keys on your keyboard?

    Is there any chance of physical damage to the switch may have occurred?

    Have you tried re-seating the card?
     
  12. esema

    esema New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried turning the switch on and off - no difference. Gateway m6750 F2 to use keys to turn on and off - no difference. F2 is the broadcast key. There may have been physical damage to the switch (older laptop) but it seems to be solid. I have tried removing the card and reseating it, reconnected the antenna wires and have tried placing it in the adjoining slot with no success. I swapped another card into the slot and the drivers load OK with the new card but I still get the Red X with no networks seen.

    I'm thinking it is behaving like the switch is not functional and the wireless is turned off. Is there a way to check the switch?
     
  13. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You sort of lost me with the Adjoining slot reference. I was unable to find your model on the Gateway site, possibly country specific, but the one I did see only seems to have one slot. But since you have the antenna wires, I suppose you must be in the correct place.

    If the switch was working and the card was good, it would seem turning it on and off would make a difference. The fact it does not seem to, is troublesome.

    If you mean physically checking the switch, I cannot tell from any pictures, but you would have to get to some connection and if you are not experienced, doing that might create more problems.

    I don't suppose you have another laptop you could check the card/s in?

    If nothing else, you might try moving the switch many times in case it has gotten corroded and will not make contact. You may want to have the system unplugged and the battery removed when you do that.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Just another thought. Is it possible you are using some third party software (possibly from Gateway) to manage your wireless connection? You may be able to find it in the services console
    Click the Start Orb and type
    services.msc
    and hit enter
    Scroll down to
    WLAN AutoConfig (that's the Windows Wireless Network Management Utility)
    Check the status. Is it currently running? Is the startup type set to automatic?
     
  15. esema

    esema New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    WLAN AutoConfig is currently running and Startup is set to Automatic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...