Remote Desktop Protocol Error

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by andrewljones2000, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. andrewljones2000

    andrewljones2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    When i am remote desktoping to one of our terminal servers from windows 7 and then shadowing a users session as soon as i connect to the users session via Terminal Services Manager I get the following error:

    'Because of a protocol error, this session will be disconnected. please try connecting to the remote computer again.'

    It appears to be a problem with windows 7 remote desktop, as i also have XP and Vista machines which i do the same on but they work fine!

    Any Ideas????
     
  2. PhilipJCassidy

    PhilipJCassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Error Message using TS

    hi
    I am having the same problem when conecting to my clients sessions. Did you find the solution.
    It has only happened since i installed W7

    Thanks
    Philip
     
  3. andrewljones2000

    andrewljones2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i did find a solution See below:

    Problem is the mstscax.dll and mstsc.exe in the system 32 folder and the other two files in the en-US or your language folder.

    If you find these files on a working vista pc and copy them onto your windows 7 pc into the same folders they are on the vista machine, it should work!

    If you dont have access to a working vista machine, post your email address and i will email you the files.

    Cheers
    AJ.
     
  4. garfield13

    garfield13 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having this problem and cannot get access to those files. Can you email them to me? garfieldatdq, the @ sign, hotmail dot com.

    Thanks
     
  5. PhilipJCassidy

    PhilipJCassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Success!!

    Hi
    Thanks AndrewLJones2000, your solution worked perfectly and I now have complete access to users sessions.

    The instructions to be able to replace the old files are as follows: (Always create a restore point before doing this)


    Windows security needs a little massaging to allow you to modify the original file, found in C:\Windows\System32, so....
    1.Click Start, then type "cmd" in the search box & hit enter. This will launch the Command prompt
    2.Type the following & hit enter: takeown /f C:\Windows\System32\FILENAME
    3.Then type this & hit enter (NOTE: Replace USERNAME with YOUR USERNAME!! If your name has a space in it, enclose it with quotes, like "Mike Garcen")
    cacls C:\Windows\System32\FILENAME /G USERNAME:F
    4.Then go to your Windows Explorer, and go to C:\Windows\System32 and C:\Windows\System32\en-us
    5.Rename the original FILENAMES to something else, like "FILENAME.ORIGINAL", just in case
    6.*NOTE* If you are unable to do the above, try rebooting into SAFE MODE
    7.Then copy & paste the FILEs you downloaded in Step 1 into the appropriate folders
    8.And voila!


    Files to fix for Terminal Server Workstation logon
    C:\Windows\System32\mstc.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\mstscax.dll
    C:\Windows\System32\en-US\mstc.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\en-US\mstscax.dll
     
  6. ozentech

    ozentech New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you seend the vista files of remote desktop to di_bear22 (at) yahoo (dot) ca

    thnx
     
  7. esmaeili

    esmaeili New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    send the files to me too

    hi!
    i want the 2 files too!my email address is : fesmaeili@gmail.com
    i am waiting for it!it is so important for me!
     
  8. Kuberan

    Kuberan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    Could you please send those visa files,

    I am waiting for it.

    My id :kuberantrk@gmail.com
     
  9. ginela6

    ginela6 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    RDC Error

    Hi guys, can you mail me those files as well please?
    wernerlist@gmail.com is my mail address.
     
  10. YourMooseyFate

    YourMooseyFate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. deaners

    deaners New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to fix this problem exactly as described with my 32 bit systems however... I am now running a 64 bit version of Windows 7 Enterprise and this fix is not working. Has anyone been able to get around this?

    any idea if Microsoft is working on it?
     
  12. YourMooseyFate

    YourMooseyFate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aw, crap. The fix doesn't work for x64? I'm running 64 bit too. :((

    The weird thing is, my PC lets me remote into it SOMETIMES. For some reason, restarting it seems to help. o_O I really don't know what to do about this issue because it's so vague. :\
     
  13. deaners

    deaners New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I've been reading online, there is 2 places where Windows 7 stores and pulls it's executable files from. C:\Windows\system32 and C:\Windows sysWOW64.

    sysWOW64 (Windows 32bit On Windows 64bit) is where the 32 files are found. Whereas system32 is where the 64 bit files are. I have tried to take ownership of the files in both and copy files from a 32bit Vista system, but I think that I may need to get the 4 files from a 64bit Vista install.

    If ANYONE has any thoughts or insight on this, please help. I am stuck right now having broken Remote Desktop altogether.
     
  14. bakesale

    bakesale New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am experiencing the same problem with on the opposite end. I have a Windows Server 2008 R2 (x64) machine that people connect to through RDP. Whenever I remotely view a user session upon me leaving the remote control mode it disconnects the user with the generic Remote Desktop Connection Protocol Error. Is the solution the same? To replace the files for remote desktop?
     
  15. th999

    th999 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi - having the same error with Win 7 clients trying to remotely control RD sessions on 2008 R2. I don't associate with anyone using Vista - can you please forward the files to me? (thorner@elynx.com.au)
    Thanks....
     
    #15 th999, Jul 14, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2010
  16. majimenez

    majimenez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. duanpx

    duanpx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, i want to have this files too, could you please send a copy for me?
    my email adress isp.duan@tue.nl

    thanks
     
  18. aerickson

    aerickson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey could you send me the files, i am also having issues with this. Email: aerickson@weccusa.org

    Thanks
    Adam R Erickson
     
  19. daymang

    daymang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    Data miners are going to love you posting your e-mail address like you did
     

Share This Page

Loading...