Remove Computer from Network View

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by SilverWyrm, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. SilverWyrm

    SilverWyrm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm setting up a home network and in the process renamed my main desktop a couple of times.
    Now when viewing the network from either the desktop or my laptop I see the 2 old names as computers in the list. They are inaccessible but I can't figure out a way to remove them from the list.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Try this from an elevated command prompt (right click on command prompt and choose run as adminitrator) type nbtstat -R both machines, don't know if you need to reboot but it wouldn't hurt. Let us know if that worked, it's suppose to flush the netbios cache,
     
  3. SilverWyrm

    SilverWyrm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the first of the old names dropped-off immediately after I ran the flush, the other went away after a few minutes. I don't know whether the flush did it or they just had to time out but either way they're gone now.

    Thank you for the help!
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Thanks for posting back, glad your problem is resolved. Sometimes netbios information, good or bad can take a while to propagate across the network and flushing the netbios cache will often speed up the process
     

Share This Page

Loading...