Windows 7 Replacing Start Orb?

Discussion in 'Desktop Customization' started by Cam493, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. Cam493

    Cam493 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    How would I go about replacing the image of my Start Orb, so that it looks like the "Show Desktop" button? Here's a picture of what I want it to look like:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. TechSupport

    TechSupport New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is possible but know this with a warning. The necessary files are hidden in explorer.exe in windows7 unlike XP or Vista and you need to tweek them. The software you use is **********, you know what - I don´t think it would be alright to post that here so my suggestion is simply give it a search. A hint would be starting at neowin net and looking for guides at devianart. Good luck and make a backup first!
     
  3. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    Just replace the whole bar with Winstep and use Next Start nd various themes that are out there nd they can be tweaked for you use. In My Start Bar I have no ORB just my initials but can be changed to what ever I want such as my last name or first name. I might change it GO here in the future as you can see in the screen shot
    [​IMG]
     
    #3 Super Sarge, Jul 6, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2009
  4. BishopLord

    BishopLord New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    That WinStep looks cool. I'm using something similar on my XP machine called Windowblinds. So far, WindowBlinds isn't compatible with W7, so the WinStep looks to be a better alternative for me right now.
     
  5. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    I use Stardocks Windows blinds it certainly does work with Windows 7 64 and 32 bit has from the get go. I am a subscriber to to Object Desktop Stardock.com - Your Edge In Software windows blinds 6.50 dated 3/24/09 beta definitly works with they even have a windows blinds 7 beta if you are a current subscriber to to Object Desktop, However the only skins that will work are the vista ones and few that are designed for W7:):):)
     
  6. BishopLord

    BishopLord New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh, I only bought the WindowsBlinds license. The only version we have available to download is 6.2. If there is 6.5 or 7 Beta, I haven't seen a link on the website for it. I even went over to Impulse for the update, but still didn't see any 6.5 or 7 beta.

    I've been contemplating buying the upgrade subscription to Oject Desktop, but I'm not sure if I'll be using all the other software (even though it's a really great deal).
     
  7. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    I would recommend it, download impulse to see if you can get latest WB. You cannot get WB 7 beta unless you purchase Object Desktop it is for subscribers only, I use Web Blinds, Icon Packager,Cursor FX Plus, Fences Sound Packager Logon Studio for Vista it works on W-7 and various other packages that come with Object Desktop:D:D
     
  8. rover3500

    rover3500 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    re:windowblinds for seven

    I'm not a subscriber,but i updated my windowblinds 6 to 7 beta for £9.99 and i get the full one when it comes out.Runs ok on windows 7,and like was said all vista skins seem to work for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...