Reset network adapter?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by fjk61011, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. fjk61011

    fjk61011 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Reset network adapter?

    I want to reset the network adapter to release it from 100 Mbps to 1 Gbps. I can't find a button to do this.

    I could go to a command prompt and us ipconfig but am looking for the setting in Windows 7.
     
  2. Richie086

    Richie086 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    1. Click on Start
    2. Click on Network
    3. Click on Network and Sharing Center
    4. Click on Change adapter settings
    5. Right click on your network adapter, choose Properties
    6. Click on the Configure button
    7. Click on the Advanced tab
    8. Choose from the dropdown box the option for your Duplex/Network Speed settings
    9. Change your setting to 1GB or whatever your trying to do
    10. Done
     
    #2 Richie086, Oct 3, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2009
  3. fjk61011

    fjk61011 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    No setting for 1Gbps?!
     
  4. Richie086

    Richie086 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    is your adapter gigabit capatable?

    might just be a driver issue in windows 7, i have had tons of issues with network card drivers in windows 7 :(
     
  5. fjk61011

    fjk61011 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is. It shows up as 10/100/1000 Mpbs in Device Manager. I rebooted the 1 Gpbs Switch and the adapter is now at 1 Gpbs
     
  6. Richie086

    Richie086 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    so its working now?
     
  7. fjk61011

    fjk61011 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes but there used to be a renew adaptor button in vista that did the trick without having to go across the room to the Switch. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...