Resize TV desktop?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by reghakr, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello all,

    I upgraded my video drivers for my Nvidia 8500GT to the latest version directly from Nvidia's site

    Now when I change the input to my TV, there is no Resize desktop entry as there waas before.

    I couldn't even see the start button or taskbar.

    Am I missing something?

    My Nvidia Control Panel is verion 2.7.170.15
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    What about if you right-click, can you get into the nvidia control panel then? I'm just thinking it may have been moved as an 'improvement'?
     
    #2 kemical, Oct 11, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2009
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Yes,

    I was able to go through all the options of the Control panel, but the damn resize monitor was unavailable.

    i don;t get it
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Thanks for the help and links.

    I have an Acer set to 1680 x 1050.

    The card has an HDMI cable to the TV set.

    I'll try lowering the resolution and see if that makes a difference.

    Bear with me.
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Thanks,

    I had to lower the resolution from 1680 x 1050 to 768 x 992 to see the full screen with Start button and taskbar.

    Now I'm wondering what will happen when I play a DVD on the TV.

    That's my next task.
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    It's displaying on the TV right now.

    I had to go back in and change the resolution...it doesn't stick.

    I popped in a DVD and everything seems fine.

    Thanks for your help, this was driving me crazy.

    Another fine accmplishment kemical.:)
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    You got it sorted! great stuff!...:D
     
  9. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Sure did with you advice.

    Thanks again.:)
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    As always, glad to help.... :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...