Windows 7 Right Click Menu customization

Discussion in 'Desktop Customization' started by D-11, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, D-11 again with my annoying questions ;) So... Is the Right Click menu open for customization? Like removing commands you don't want/need? Because always when I save pics to my HDD I click on Send Image... instead of Save As...
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Yes, hang on............

    ShellExView v1.45

    Description

    Shell Extensions are in-process COM objects which extends the abilities of Windows operating system. Most shell extensions are automatically installed by the operating system, but there are also many other applications that install additional shell extension components. For example: If you install WinZip on your computer, you'll see a special WinZip menu when you right-click on a Zip file. This menu is created by adding a shell extension to the system.


    The ShellExView utility displays the details of shell extensions installed on your computer, and allows you to easily disable and enable each shell extension.
    ShellExView can be used for solving context-menu problems in Explorer environment. For more information, read the following article: Right-click is slow or weird behavior caused by context menu handlers [​IMG]
     
  3. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet! So... How do I find what I'm looking for? There's like... A thousand entry's

    Edit: Okay, so it's more like a hundred but still.
     
    #3 D-11, Dec 6, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2009
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Maximize it.
     
  5. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Huh? If you mean run it in full screen, I am. I just have no clue what to look for. I've tried Send Link, Right Click menu, Image, Pic...
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Look for context menu entries
     
  7. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    D'oh! Okay. Found a bunch. Now what?

    Edit: Ain't finding anything about what I'm looking for. Nothing about images nor Firefox.
     
    #7 D-11, Dec 6, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2009
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Right-click on each one and you'll see the options.
     
  9. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm stumped as to what I have to do. I know the options and stuff but to disable something I have to find an entry right? Well I'm not finding any entry even remotely attached to what I want gone
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Click on the Type column and look over all the context menu entries.

    Right-click on one that you want to remove and choose Disable Selected item.
     
  11. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I know but which one of them is it? BTW I don't want to disable the whole menu, just limit the selections
     
  12. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    That's why you only choose one item at a time.
     
  13. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I disabled the entries that didn't pop a warning one by one. Nothing changed at all.
     
  14. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    What do you mean by that?

    Was some context menu giving you a warning?
     
  15. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Could you post a screen shot.
     
  16. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I didn't get an error at all.

    Was this an upgrade or a :clean" install?
     
  18. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Clean" Install. I kept my files and replaced my OS
     
  19. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you try an other and were they successful, or do you get the same error message
     
  20. D-11

    D-11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't tried any other programs since I don't really know what to look for. (Program wise)
     

Share This Page

Loading...