router problom

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by jester722014, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. jester722014

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am using a sisco router.. it work fine for a year then it wouldnt for certin devices the nothing reads it but wont connect....i using cable internet..and when i trouble shoot it it says ip problon... thnx
     
  2. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    You need to be much more clear about the nature of the problem.
     
  3. Twinnii

    Twinnii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is your computer saying you have IP problem. If so, save any router configurations from your ISP and your Cisco router and power them down or unplug them. Also power off your computer. Then after about a minute, plug in your Modem from ISP and wait until all lights are solid green especially Internet light. Then power on Cisco router and give that some time. Then turn on your pc. Do you have any other type of device in your home to test. Such as phone laptop desktop etc. We would like to know which devices aren't communicating because it can be an isolated problem.
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    If after all that you still have a problem post a copy of your ipconfig here. You can get this by going to start programs, command prompt and entering this command:

    ipconfig /all >c:\desktop\ipconfig.txt

    This will create a file called ipconfig.txt on your desktop which you can then post here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...