Running program on another computer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by ozsan, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two windows 7 computers networked and would like to run a program, which is installed on computer 2, on computer 1 but don't really want to install it on computer 1. Is there a way of doing this through the network?
    Thank you
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    268
    You can run a program on computer 2 from computer 1 using one of many avaiable remote control programs but there is no mechanism to execute a program installed on computer 2 on computer 1.
     
  3. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been looking at remote desktop in windows and it would probably do what I need. But I have just one question. I don't have passwords on either computers can I still use it without a password
    Thanks
     
  4. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
    I suppose it would be faster for me to install the program on this computer but I didn't want to play around with that if I could get away with out it.
     
  5. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    268
    In a word, "No" - that's the basic reason why computers have passwords!
     

Share This Page

Loading...