same Win 7 OS on two machines ?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by greendesert, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. greendesert

    greendesert New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two HP laptops. One came with Win 7 Pro while the other has home edition. Is it possible to install the pro version on both the machines with the same installation disk.

    I think since I own both the laptops and their respective OS, I might try to do that. The main reason is one has a clean installation disk while the other has OS image with all the bundled HP bloatwares which I dont want to go thru.
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It isn't legal to run two installs of the software from one license. And you cannot install one version of the software using a license from another version.

    Plus, if you have OEM versions of the software, it cannot be moved from the original machine.
     
  3. greendesert

    greendesert New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I won't try do anything illegal. Just dont like the bundled image file instead of a standalone OS. I do have OEM version so that answer seems no.

    This brings me to another question. Is it okay to download ISO image from direct download links for Windows 7 ISOs
    and activate it with my OEM license key ? Will it work ?
     
    #3 greendesert, Jul 7, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Someone else may know for sure if it would activate using the OEM key, but I do not.

    Do you have the Home Basic version, or Home Premium? Since I do not see a download for the Home Basic, that might not be an option.

    Otherwise, I would want to make sure I kept the original install safe, possibly by doing a System Image Backup, or obtaining a new hard drive and trying the install with it. But again, the Home version OEM key will not activate a Pro version of the software.
     

Share This Page

Loading...