Scheduled Tasks not working with run whether user logged in or not option

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by datagopherdan, Mar 6, 2013.

  1. datagopherdan

    datagopherdan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [h=2][/h]
    I tried posting this in another section but got no respnses, so hopefully somewhere here can help with it.

    I am accessing a remote computer through regular [FONT=inherit !important][FONT=inherit !important]remote [/FONT][FONT=inherit !important]desktop[/FONT][/FONT]. I have admin rights and all that good stuff and can schedule tasks. The problem that I'm having is when I select the option to "Run whether user is logged on or not" it does not work. It shows in the status as "Running". Even if I try to run it manually, it will not work.

    If I change the option "Run only when user is logged on" for the same task(s) then it runs fine. Does anyone know how I can correct this or a workaround, so I can get it to run with the option to run whether I'm logged on or not? Any assistance would be appreciated.​
     
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Did you try checking Run With Highest Privileges?
    Joe
     
  3. datagopherdan

    datagopherdan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. That does not do anything. I remember hearing something about this being a problem with Windows 7 but not sure how to get it to work or if theres a workaround or what. In XP, this was real simple. I'm thinking since Windows 7 is much more security conscience then previous versions that has something to do with it. Any ideas on how to get it to run? There must be a way, why would they have an option to even do it if there wasn't?
     
  4. Twinnii

    Twinnii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    What exactly are you trying to run? I would try to replicate on my machine.
     
  5. datagopherdan

    datagopherdan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anything. It has nothing to do with the batch file. It shows the process as always running. It does not matter what type of batch I try to run, it still will not run with the option to run even when user is not logged on.
     
  6. MtheK

    MtheK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I use WTS, I occasionally get "Running" because I usually am running a .BAT manually at the same time that WTS tries to run it. In my case, I must set it to "End" and then it runs. I use "whether logged on or not" to SILENTLY run my .BAT. I have gotton many
    - errors from WTS, such as: "-2147750687; 7FFBECE1h WTS duplicate task?" in the History Tab.
     

Share This Page

Loading...