Screen mess up...

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Lyhne, May 31, 2009.

  1. Lyhne

    Lyhne New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there.

    Ive tried to search the net for a similar problem, but havent been able to find it anywhere.

    Anyways... Everytime I start Media Center or try to open a fullscreen program - and other times without reasons explainable, my screen messes up and I cant continue whatever I am doing in windows. I had the same problems during the Beta test, allthough not when using Media Center.

    I can see some reactions on screen, but the only way to overcome the problem, is to restart. When I press my power button, I can hear windows shut down proberly. Whenever the PC shuts down the harddiscs the screen freezes though - so I have turned that option off.

    Once - I tried to play Zuma fullscreen. I saw the glitch just before the game started. Then the game started normally, but when I quit, and went back to windows - the glitch was still there.

    I just took a picture with my mobile phone, and when I tried to watch it with the built in picture program, the screen once again f***ed up. I don't know if it will help, but I attached the picture here.

    I recently installed the RC and updated everything via the Windows update. The glitch was there from the very beginning. I updated the BIOS on my MB (Asus P5B-E) and installed the most recent Nvidia driver for my Galaxy 7900 GS from the Nvidia homepage.

    I am lost, and can't seem to find a solution, so I hope anyone of you can help :)

    Thx
    /Lyhne

    PC Specs:
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz
    Asus P5B-E Motherboard
    2 GB Ram
    Galaxy 7900GS Graphics card
    LG 1710B monitor
     
  2. Lyhne

    Lyhne New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgot to mention that Im using the 32-bit version of Windows 7...
     
  3. ENZO

    ENZO New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure, maybe it your monitor? tried plugging in another monitor?

    Enzo.
     
  4. Lyhne

    Lyhne New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ... hmm nope - didnt think of or tried that. I keep forgetting that my monitor is getting old :)...

    Its not that easy to test though... havent got a spare lying around! ;)
     
  5. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    I had a problem like that a long time ago where a game changed the screen resolution to something the monitor couldn't handle. The screen looked exactly the same.
     
  6. Lyhne

    Lyhne New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ... although I find it a bit strange that it also did it, after installing java, and trying to run a webinterface in java - I can't see what that has to do with my screen resolution.

    But its still worth trying out :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...