Security essentials

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by rdutton, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. rdutton

    rdutton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running win 7 with Microsoft Security Essentials.. No Problem, but I read somewhere that Microsoft was going to abandon Security essentials.. Should I switch or was it just a rumor.
     
  2. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    I am no security expert.
    However, I have read this article and it is bad news for MSE......
    excerpt:
    In an interview with Dennis Protection Labs, Holly Stewart, the senior program manager of the Microsoft Malware Protection Center, said that Microsoft Security Essentials was just a “baseline” that’s designed to “always be on the bottom” of antivirus tests. She said Microsoft sees MSE as a first layer of protection and advises Windows users to use a third-party antivirus instead.

    click this Source to read the entire article.
     
  3. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I tried it and dumped it after it quit running for no reason a few times. There have been reports all year from mutiple sources that Security Essentials is at the bottom of the list when compared to other AV products. AV Comparatives http://www.av-comparatives.org/ one of the testing groups pulled it's certification months ago. I switched to Avast Free.
    Joe
     
  4. rdutton

    rdutton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought so,,,was suspicious when Mal Bytes was picking up malware and Essentials was not--
    dropped essentials, put Norton back to work..
     
  5. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    ......... put Norton back to work..........

    If you have already purchased Norton, then go ahead use it. No point to waste money.

    If not, I would suggest you try something free, such as Avast which has a free edition.
    I use that on both my Win 7 and my Win 8.1.
     
  6. rdutton

    rdutton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have downloaded Norton from Comcast--they furnish it free to Xfinity/Comcast users..
    Thank you for the tip though,
    Bob
     

Share This Page

Loading...