Seemingly Random BSOD - Slowness After Most Recent

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Chompigator, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just built this computer around the 1st of August this year. It's my second self-built PC and came together without issue. However, I started having blue screens about once a week since maybe the 2nd day after I first ran it. Every single blue screen seems to be linked to the video card drivers crashing. Usually the drivers will crash and successfully recover as stated by the helpful little message at the bottom right.

    When the display drivers crash, I'm usually in a game of TF2, League of Legends, or even in Mozilla Firefox. The screen will freeze, sound will continue, and after 15 seconds or so go black for 2-3 seconds then go back to normal. The display driver crashing has happened TOO MANY TIMES TO COUNT and seems almost entirely random. Sometimes it will crash 3-4 times in the span of a half hour in League of Legends and sometimes it can go several days with no crash and the same amount of activity on the computer.

    I've tried everything I could possibly find on the internet and from friends in terms of troubleshooting the display drivers crashing. I've diagnosed my memory, updated drivers, tried older driver versions, updated everything Windows has recommended, checked temperatures constantly... I'm starting to wonder if all of these issues could possibly be linked to insufficient dedicated memory on the video card? It says 1 GB on the box but when I check in system information it says around 750 MB... which sounds dangerously low to me.

    One more thing... the blue screens have happened 4 times so far, the last happened about an hour ago and the computer has been sluggish since, I can't even use Firefox due to how painfully slow it works now.

    Is it possible that all of these issues could stem from the video card?

    Crash Logs attached below... I believe I changed the format of the logs between the 3rd and last crash dump.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi,

    Something became apparent straight away when reading your dmp files, your bios needs updating:

    BiosVersion = 0901
    BiosReleaseDate = 11/24/2011

    The last three bios updates all include better stability for your board. Please update: ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX

    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
    Invalid system memory was referenced.  This cannot be protected by try-except,
    it must be protected by a Probe.  Typically the address is just plain bad or it
    is pointing at freed memory.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: fffff8a0152fa6fc, memory referenced.
    Arg2: 0000000000000000, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
    Arg3: fffff80002f519b6, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
        address.
    Arg4: 0000000000000000, (reserved)
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    Could not read faulting driver name
    
    READ_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from fffff80002f02100
     fffff8a0152fa6fc 
    
    FAULTING_IP: 
    nt!CmpCleanUpKCBCacheTable+da
    fffff800`02f519b6 0fba630414      bt      dword ptr [rbx+4],14h
    
    MM_INTERNAL_CODE:  0
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    [COLOR=#ff0000]BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50[/COLOR]
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  TrustedInstall
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    
    TRAP_FRAME:  fffff880091266a0 -- (.trap 0xfffff880091266a0)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    rax=0000000000000000 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=fffff8a0078f2de8
    rdx=fffffe3f9fffffff rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=fffff80002f519b6 rsp=fffff88009126830 rbp=fffff8a010ec3001
     r8=00000000ffffffff  r9=0000000000014200 r10=0000000000000000
    r11=0000000001ffffff r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0         nv up ei ng nz na pe nc
    nt!CmpCleanUpKCBCacheTable+0xda:
    fffff800`02f519b6 0fba630414      bt      dword ptr [rbx+4],14h ds:014d:00000000`00000004=????????
    Resetting default scope
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80002c7b54c to fffff80002cd31c0
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`09126538 fffff800`02c7b54c : 00000000`00000050 fffff8a0`152fa6fc 00000000`00000000 fffff880`091266a0 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff880`09126540 fffff800`02cd12ee : 00000000`00000000 fffff8a0`152fa6fc fffffa80`0de92000 fffff8a0`152fa6f8 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x456df
    fffff880`091266a0 fffff800`02f519b6 : fffff8a0`143ce948 fffff8a0`12804201 fffff8a0`10ec3010 00000000`00000200 : nt!KiPageFault+0x16e
    fffff880`09126830 fffff800`02f5245c : fffff8a0`10ec3010 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000001 fffff800`00000000 : nt!CmpCleanUpKCBCacheTable+0xda
    fffff880`091268e0 fffff800`02f520b8 : fffff8a0`128042f0 fffff880`09126b60 000007fe`fd3b3101 fffff8a0`16a35a80 : nt!CmpSearchForOpenSubKeys+0x40
    fffff880`09126930 fffff800`02cd2453 : fffffa80`0f655590 000007fe`fd3b3110 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`0dad5f00 : nt!NtUnloadKey2+0x597
    fffff880`09126ae0 00000000`77022b9a : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
    00000000`00bedf08 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x77022b9a
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    nt!CmpCleanUpKCBCacheTable+da
    fffff800`02f519b6 0fba630414      bt      dword ptr [rbx+4],14h
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  3
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  nt!CmpCleanUpKCBCacheTable+da
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: nt
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  ntkrnlmp.exe
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4fa390f3
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_nt!CmpCleanUpKCBCacheTable+da
    
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_nt!CmpCleanUpKCBCacheTable+da
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    Cause

    Bug check 0x50 usually occurs after the installation of faulty hardware or in the event of failure of installed hardware (usually related to defective RAM, be it main memory, L2 RAM cache, or video RAM).

    Update your bios and if your still getting bsod then please run memtest again. This is extremely important: Only test one stick at a time and for at least 7/8 passes. This is because tested together errors can be missed plus you know which stick is the bad one if errors are encountered.

    You also need to update a few drivers like sound and network. In fact I'd use your motherboard web site as a guide and update everything to the latest versions..

    Edit: Oh and I forgot to mention.. What size is your PSU?
     
    #2 kemical, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  3. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm actually having a really hard time with the BIOS updates. I have the AI Suite II for updating and it says my version number is 1208 which is second to the newest version, yet my dxdiag says otherwise. The BIOS updates are ROM files and I have no idea how to use those other than to go through AI Suite and now I'm not so sure it's updating correctly... The weird thing is I was recently at this exact page updating drivers for everything and I had an error come up at installation as if the files were corrupt. Seems to be working now though. I've updated the sound and ethernet drivers, now just waiting for the BIOS update to stop sitting at 0%...

    I will try the memtest again though, I tested the RAM as a batch and not one stick at a time.

    As for the PSU... it's 850 Watt. If you mean the physical dimensions I have no idea.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Thanks for the info, as for the psu, I just wondered on it's output and as it's 850W then that's plenty. Updating the bios can either be done by using an auto updater, which by the sounds of it is what your using or you download the file pop it onto a thumb drive (or floppy in the old days) and then press a certain key whilst booting to enter the required menu.. I'd check your motherboard manual which should have a page or two dedicated to updating your bios.
     
  5. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I've been running memory tests all day with the windows memory diagnostic tool and apparently it is detecting problems on 2 of my 4 sticks of RAM. I'm running more passes on the other 2 to make completely sure they're okay. However the diagnostic tool does not give me a report on startup anymore, I just see that it detected problems in the status portion of the memory test.

    Update - Yup, 2 faulty sticks of RAM so I now have just 2 sticks in for a total of 8 GB of memory. Going to give it a few days before I decide any issues are fixed, still trying to update BIOS.
     
    #5 Chompigator, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Looks like you may have found your culprit. I'm a little concerned about what you say concerning the bios updating. Are you still using the auto updater or did you try the other way?
     
  7. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't had a moment to update my BIOS yet since the AI Suite updater clearly isn't going to work. If I try to update via the rom I download from the website it just sits at 0% for literally hours and I've tried after several reboots as well. Either way updating through the AI Suite is not changing the BIOS version in my dxdiag, it only says it's updated in the AI Suite.

    On another note my display drivers are still crashing. The second I opened Firefox they crashed and recovered so the issue is still present. I guess I'll try the flash update but I am not entirely sure what I'm doing. o_O

    Update - BIOS is now version 1304, however it was already 1208 before I updated so I'm not sure why the crash report is saying my version was that old. This is UEFI BIOS so I'm not sure if that makes a difference. I'm really not confident that this will have fixed the issue.

    Update - And yet another random display driver crash while playing Minecraft. I was literally just in Skyrim for about an hour on ultra settings and everything was fine. Seems really silly to me. :p

    "Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered." Event ID 4101
     
    #7 Chompigator, Aug 28, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2012
  8. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok... this morning I simply booted up my computer and it had a blue screen. That has not happened before, it's always been in the middle of a game.

    Edit - On a side note, I was just browsing through my system information and noticed under Problem Devices that it lists "AODDriver4.1" and says "This device is not present, is not working properly, or does not have all its drivers installed."
    Could this have anything to do with my issues, and how do I resolve it?
     

    Attached Files:

    #8 Chompigator, Aug 29, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2012
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Not to get too far afield here, as you need to seriously follow up with your memory diagnostics..... using
    Not the Windows memory diagnostic utility.
    Latest DUMP: 082912-16692-01.dmp
    Code:
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff80002fc6a9b, fffff8800bc4ed60, 0}
    [U][B]Probably caused by : Pool_Corruption[/B][/U] ( nt!ExDeferredFreePool+1df )
    Followup: Pool_corruption
    [SIZE=3][COLOR=#ff0000][I][B]SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION (3b)[/B][/I][/COLOR][/SIZE]
    An exception happened while executing a system service routine.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 00000000c0000005, Exception code that caused the bugcheck
    Arg2: fffff80002fc6a9b, Address of the instruction which caused the bugcheck
    Arg3: fffff8800bc4ed60, Address of the context record for the exception that caused the bugcheck
    Arg4: 0000000000000000, zero.
    EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s.
    FAULTING_IP: 
    nt!ExDeferredFreePool+1df
    fffff800`02fc6a9b 4c395808        cmp     qword ptr [rax+8],r11
    CONTEXT:  fffff8800bc4ed60 -- (.cxr 0xfffff8800bc4ed60)
    rax=0045004e004f004e rbx=00000000000000c2 rcx=fffffa8006c6b1f0
    rdx=fffff8a00aa35770 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=fffff8a0095f9900
    rip=fffff80002fc6a9b rsp=fffff8800bc4f740 rbp=0000000000000000
     r8=0000000000000000  r9=fffff8a00aa35670 r10=0000000000000001
    r11=fffff8a00aa35680 r12=fffffa8006c6b000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=000000000000000f r15=0000000000000001
    iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na po nc
    cs=0010  ss=0018  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010206
    nt!ExDeferredFreePool+0x1df:
    fffff800`02fc6a9b 4c395808        cmp     qword ptr [rax+8],r11 ds:002b:0045004e`004f0056=????????????????
    Resetting default scope
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x3B
    PROCESS_NAME:  [COLOR=#ff0000][U][I][B]aaHMSvc.exe[/B][/I][/U][/COLOR]
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80002fc61a1 to fffff80002fc6a9b
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`0bc4f740 fffff800`02fc61a1 : 00000000`00000000 fffff8a0`0941f810 00000000`003ef170 fffff8a0`0941f820 : nt!ExDeferredFreePool+0x1df
    fffff880`0bc4f7d0 fffff800`02ea33d4 : 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`74536d4d fffffa80`06d37a40 : nt!ExFreePoolWithTag+0x411
    fffff880`0bc4f880 fffff800`03135075 : 00000000`00000000 fffff8a0`0a8e5b20 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000146 : nt!ObfDereferenceObject+0xd4
    fffff880`0bc4f8e0 fffff800`031a2a18 : fffff8a0`0a8e5b00 00000000`00000001 fffffa80`096661a0 fffffa80`0703f6a0 : nt!AlpcpSectionDestroyProcedure+0x39
    fffff880`0bc4f910 fffff800`03137470 : fffff8a0`0a8e5b20 fffffa80`07142b90 fffffa80`0729f150 fffffa80`0729f110 : nt!AlpcpDestroyBlob+0x28
    fffff880`0bc4f940 fffff800`031a2a18 : fffff8a0`0ab4a5b0 fffff8a0`0ab78530 fffff8a0`0ab78510 00000000`00000000 : nt!AlpcpRegionDestroyProcedure+0xd0
    fffff880`0bc4f970 fffff800`03136faf : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff8a0`00000001 fffff8a0`0ab78530 : nt!AlpcpDestroyBlob+0x28
    fffff880`0bc4f9a0 fffff800`031a2a18 : fffff8a0`0ab78510 00000000`00000000 fffff800`0300ae60 00000000`00000001 : nt!AlpcpViewDestroyProcedure+0x30f
    fffff880`0bc4fa40 fffff800`0314d21a : fffff8a0`0ab78530 00000000`ffffffff 00000000`ffffffff 00000000`00000000 : nt!AlpcpDestroyBlob+0x28
    fffff880`0bc4fa70 fffff800`02e99453 : fffffa80`072f3b50 fffff880`0bc4fb60 00000000`7efd5001 fffffa80`0a2b0350 : nt!NtAlpcDeleteSectionView+0x142
    fffff880`0bc4fae0 00000000`770b1ada : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
    00000000`003ee808 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x770b1ada
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    nt!ExDeferredFreePool+1df
    fffff800`02fc6a9b 4c395808        cmp     qword ptr [rax+8],r11
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  0
    SYMBOL_NAME:  nt!ExDeferredFreePool+1df
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  Pool_corruption
    IMAGE_NAME:  Pool_Corruption
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  0
    MODULE_NAME: Pool_Corruption
    STACK_COMMAND:  .cxr 0xfffff8800bc4ed60 ; kb
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x3B_nt!ExDeferredFreePool+1df
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x3B_nt!ExDeferredFreePool+1df
    Followup: Pool_corruption
    In light of the fact that this was a system service exception which points toward an issue perhaps with aaHMSvc.exe I am wondering if perhaps you have considered removing your motherboard utilities software (which are usually unneeded and can cause some similar issues) to see if they may be to some extent the underlying cause of your issues.
    [TABLE="width: 222"]
    [TR]
    [TD]AiChargerPlus.sys[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]11/8/2010[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]AODDriver2.sys[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]3/6/2012[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]AsIO.sys[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]8/23/2010[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]AsUpIO.sys[/TD]
    [TD="align: right"]8/2/2010[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    Just an additional thought on the issue. You should seriously make sure that you have satisfied in your own mind that there are no lingering issues with your installed memory modules.
    And, for additional peace of mind check your system disk for any issues, using the native Check Disk Utility.
    And perhaps follow that up with the vendor specific disk diagnostic utility from your hard drive manufacturer. Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.
    Regards
    Randy

    EDIT: http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?board_id=1&model=P8Z68+DELUXE&id=20110620001447878&page=1&SLanguage=en-us
     
    #9 Trouble, Aug 29, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2012
  10. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the reply. I personally was feeling sketchy about the memory issue so that helps. I will try testing everything thoroughly on Friday when I have time.

    I've used the hard drive diagnostic tool from the manufacturer and everything was okay on the... I guess broad spectrum test but I never ran the extended one so I guess I'll get to work on EVERYTHING and post any updates. I still have a feeling it's the RAM even though I'm only using 2 sticks. ._. I hope it's not the slots on the mobo.
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    I did actually mention to use memtest?
     
    #11 kemical, Aug 30, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2012
  12. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sorry, I didn't know "memtest" referred to a very specific program. I'm knew to all of these diagnostics. Didn't mean to burst your bubble. Please don't give up on my case just because I didn't fully understand. :/ I'm no computer genius.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Don't worry no bubble was burst, it's been slowly deflating for a while though. I have to admit that at times we, the bsod 'team', do get frustrated by users not following our advice. I'm not saying this is what you were doing by any means and no one has given up on you.

    What is the actual state of play with your issue? Is it fixed or no? If your still getting bsods then please post the latest and we will investigate.
     
  14. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry for the delayed response, I decided I wasn't going to get any actual diagnostics done on the memory unless I let the memtest86 run at least 10 hours for 8+ passes so it's going to probably take the week to test all of it.

    However, I did do the first official test with all 4 sticks in just for the heck of it and over 7 hours it came up with 93 errors. I took out the 3rd stick since the "failing address" was coming up a lot around the 9-12 gb range (lol? I have no idea if that even makes sense!). I was able to play Skyrim the entire day without a crash as well as a few other games, but this has happened before with all sticks in... so I can't confirm that it was actually solved.

    I just woke up to 10 passes complete on stick 2 in slot 1 and it came up with 1 error in test 6. My question is... is it significant for a single error to come up? Should I replace that stick too considering the slot isn't defective or is an error every once in a while fairly common?

    And as I type this Skype randomly stops working when I'm not doing anything with it (this with just stick 2 in slot 1)... I know errors happen like this in Windows 7 (so I'm told) but it did this quite a few times when my issue seemed to be going more haywire a couple weeks ago.
     
    #14 Chompigator, Sep 2, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2012
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    To be honest any errors showing could mean faulty RAM. As long as your sure your settings are correct then as you rightly surmised it's either the stick or slot that is bad.
     
  16. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well then this is very distressing.... Either every single stick of RAM is bad, every single slot on the mobo is bad, or it's a mixture of both and I have no idea how to determine which it is. I guess I'll order replacement RAM from a different manufacturer as a sort of control. I just don't know how to determine if my settings are correct. Do you mean the BIOS settings?
     
  17. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    There is a sticky thread;
    Please read the first post in this sticky thread here How to ask for help with a BSOD problem
    Do your best to accumulate the data required.
    Run the SF Diagnostic tool (download and right click the executable and choose run as administrator)
    Download and run CPUz. Use the Windows snipping tool to gather images from all tabs including all slots populated with memory under the SPD tab.
    Likewise RAMMon. Export the html report, put everything into a desktop folder that you've created for this purpose, zip it up and attach it to your next post (right click it and choose send to, compressed (zipped) folder.
    Why don't you start afresh by attaching that information. It will serve two purposes. It will update us with any subsequent blue screen dump files and might provide some insight into your current RAM settings. Please read it carefully and do your best to comply, it may help in some small way.
    But as kemical has said and you seem to be indicating.... if you cannot get a single stick of the RAM you currently have, to complete 7 or 8 passes of MemTest86+ in any slot on your motherboard then, that is telling. Without your operating system in the way, when running memtest your BIOS settings determine how your memory is configured (frequency and timings) your memory vendor should provide information as to optimum settings, typically 667Mhz (1333) would be 9, 9, 9, 24 command rate 2T, 1.5V and 533Mhz (1066) would be 7, 7, 7, 20 command rate 2T, 1.5V but assuming no mismatching of modules generally you can get by often with just setting both places to AUTO (default)
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Chompigator

    Chompigator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bah... I'm sorry I didn't read the stickies first in my blind fury. I have attached all the requested information in one .zip file. However, I only have 1 stick of RAM installed at this time as it's the only one that seems to be at all stable. I figured that would be fine as long as you just need my RAM settings.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Thanks for the info. The settings look fine although I could not tell what the command rate was set to on the single stick that you showed, ideally 2T.
    Assuming no mismatch with the other sticks (all are identical in every respect) then those settings (with the exception of the command rate) should be fine.
    I'll reiterate again as both Kemical and myself have said before it is vital that you determine if the problems you are experiencing are due to faulty RAM modules or MoBo slots
    There were no new dump files evident in your most recent attachment so that leaves us with nothing to add or take away from the diagnostic process.
    I'm afraid that until you can get pristine and error free results with memtest86+ then going off on tangents and pursuing other avenues will simply result in us chasing the proverbial wild geese.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565

    Could not have put it better myself....
     

Share This Page

Loading...