Seemingly Random Pagefault_in_nonpaged_area

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Synthius980, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having a string of issues with my new build, that quite frankly, is driving me up a wall. Most have been hashed out, but this page fault issue is nearing the end of my patience, I appreciate any help whatsoever in advance!

    For starters my build:
    CPU : Intel Core I7 980x, stock 3.3ghz
    Memory : Kingston tri-channel 6 gigs
    HD : Western Digital SiliconEdge 128gig SATA SSD
    GPU : EVGA Nvidia Geforce GTX 470
    Display 1 : LG W2753V 27" LCD
    Display 2 : Samsung 2233 120 hz LCD
    Sound : Creative Soundblasteer Fatalty X-fi
    MISC : Nvidia 3d vision

    Now a description of the situation:
    Whenever I boot up my computer it posts, makes it threw windows intial load, but right before the desktop can load I get the 0x50 stop, and a page_fault_in_nonpaged_area.
    No driver or system files are listed on the BSOD. After dumping my memory, i reboot to the same results, this process continues until magically the computer boots (no real rhyme or reason to number of times) and runs quite nicely. It runs smoothly, no hangs or anything of that nature, and I can leave it on the desktop for quite some time at idle with no problems. Occasionally after an extended idle time, (I'd say several hours+) I will return, wake the computer up, and find myself frozen on the desktop requiring a hard reboot.
    As long as I am actively using the computer in low intensity situations, it purs like a kitten. In high intensity situations, problems seem to arise; Certain games seem to trigger the pagefault BSOD almost instantly, while others seem content to run for hours.
    IE: I can play WoW, or Fallen Earth for hours on end, even while streaming netflix on my second display with absolutely no problems. Half life 2?, usually no problems. Battlefield bad company 2 however will cause the pagefault BSOD consistantly in any time ranging from a few seconds to 10 - 15 minutes. Dead Rising 2, same dilemma. I should note too, that when a pagefault does occur, i am reduced to the cyclic loop of page faults on desktop loadup, until finally obliges me.

    I forgot to mention, this issue has been occuring for some time, I original used the ASUS P6TD Deluxe motherboard, and 12 GB of Corsair Dominator RAM in tri-channel, both of which I have replaced due to the same error. I thought at first I had a bad channel, then bad ram due to a few errors on memtest. I now find it extremely unlikely that i have two faulty motherboards due to channels, or 2 batches of bad ram.

    I have attached both the dumps and the info from the utility. Thank you kindly for any help, and if I can be of help, let me know!
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 Synthius980, Jan 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  2. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are the CPU-Z Screenshots as well
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Hi Synthius980 and Welcome to the Forum,

    I'm no expert in these matters but just the fact that I've replied will "bump" your thread back up so it drops under an experts nose!!

    A couple of old drivers that you need to update (it won't hurt anyway!)

    RTKVHD64.sys Fri Apr 30 10:05:58 2010 REALTEK HD AUDIO

    Rt64win7.sys Sat Dec 19 09:11:30 2009 REALTEK LAN RTL8111

    RimSerial_AMD64.sys Mon Nov 24 17:01:01 2008 is quite old but I don't know if there is an update. Virtual Serial Port driver for Blackberry.

    I'll stick me neck out here and say it looks like your timings are out, but I'm not sure. Wait for someone who is!!

    And whilst you are waiting, a little light reading for you!
     
    #3 Elmer, Jan 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
  4. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the information Elmer, the link is quite helpful in learning more about my predicament. In regards to the 'timing' are you referring to my RAM settings? I'm willing to try anything to at least get the system somewhat stable.
     
  5. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Yeah the "clockings" in the CPU-Z screenshots. But I'm learning about the minidumps at the moment, without trying to get my head around RAM timings as well!!
     
  6. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know where i might be able to find more information regarding the RAM timings and what i might have incorrectly set up?
     
  7. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    I honestly don't. I know people are advised to set default bios settings as overclocking doesn't help matters when you are blue screening. I'm only saying your timings look off because I've not seen "11"s before. But then it's DDR3. Just wish I could help you more. I'm sure someone will be along shortly. Probably all worn out after the first day back at work after the long weekend!! Well, in the UK at least.
     
  8. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, after a bit of research, I've discovered the proper settings for my Kingston HyperX timings, which are listed as 9-9-9-27, I went into BIOS and prompted adjusted, but it seems im still getting BSOD's during start up, but like before ive managed to get it running after several reboots. I am added the adjusted CPU-Z pictures, and hoping someone might be able to make the connection im missing here.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If you can actually determine your Kingston part number, you may be able to use this link to help Kingston Technology Company - HyperX DDR3 -
    Here is a link to Tom's hardware which involves a review of a machine that they were evidently testing that uses your specific memory as described in the CPU-z screen shot that you provided The Cyberpower Gamer Dragon : Cyberpower
    As Elmer has said already, typically you can select a default setting in the BIOS, something like
    Load Optimized Defaults or
    Load Performance Defaults
    or just double check the memory settings and make sure they are all set to auto for the time being.
    Also make sure that you haven't installed sometype of OverClocking software that comes with some MoBo's and haven't running at startup because generally that will undo any previously established setting you've already done in the BIOS.
    Can't find any timings related to Kingston memory that suggests timings of 11 11 11 29 but if we had the actual part number off the side of the stick itself we might be able to help further.
    Also it looks like the BIOS is set to use XMP, you may want to look for that setting in the BIOS and experiment by switch it off and see if that helps.
    Keep us posted on how you're getting along.
    Randy
     
  10. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    My ram part number is KHX1600C9D3K3/6GX, I have changed the timings to 9-9-9-27, as referanced Kingston Technology Company - HyperX DDR3 -

    I have also attempted the bios setting in both XMP and standard clocking. No change either way. I honestly not sure if there is any overclocking set-up on my mobo, i believe the only thing close is turbo mode, which i have shut off. I'm not too familar with the Phoenix awardBIOS, so i may be missing something. I can't find any problems anywhere with this build, so im cursing the gods of technology right go.
     
  11. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Hello and Welcome to W7F !

    There are few thing I would like to point out. First uninstall Avast Internet Security until we complete the troubleshooting.

    1. Download aswClear5.exe on your desktop
    2. Start Windows in Safe Mode
    3. Open (execute) the uninstall utility
    4. If you installed avast! in a different folder than the default, browse for it. (Note: Be careful! The content of any folder you choose will be deleted!)
    5. Click REMOVE
    6. Restart your computer
    Then remove all the devices connected to USB because found a Device which doesn't have any drivers installed
    Code:
    Unknown Device    USB\VID_0000&PID_0000\5&2D41F132&0&3    43
    If you couldn't find it then Go to Start | under search type in Device Manager | Look for Yellow exclamation mark and Click on Update drivers.

    Start | CMD and Right Click and Run as administrator | SFC /SCANNOW

    Report us back with the results. if that didn't work we can Enable the Driver Verifier.

    Code:
    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
    Invalid system memory was referenced.  This cannot be protected by try-except,
    it must be protected by a Probe.  Typically the address is just plain bad or it
    is pointing at freed memory.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: fffff8b203821ff0, memory referenced.
    Arg2: 0000000000000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
    Arg3: fffff80003b5f680, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
        address.
    Arg4: 0000000000000005, (reserved)
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    Could not read faulting driver name
    
    WRITE_ADDRESS:  fffff8b203821ff0 
    
    FAULTING_IP: 
    nt!CmpParseKey+ba0
    fffff800`03b5f680 4c8944c808      mov     qword ptr [rax+rcx*8+8],r8
    
    MM_INTERNAL_CODE:  5
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x50
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  deadrising2.ex
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    
    TRAP_FRAME:  fffff8800bd6d460 -- (.trap 0xfffff8800bd6d460)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    rax=fffff8a003822000 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=000000023ffffffd
    rdx=00000000bfffffff rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=fffff80003b5f680 rsp=fffff8800bd6d5f0 rbp=fffff8800bd6db10
     r8=0000000000000000  r9=0000000000000000 r10=0000000000000000
    r11=fffffa8005d70060 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0         nv up ei ng nz na po cy
    nt!CmpParseKey+0xba0:
    fffff800`03b5f680 4c8944c808      mov     qword ptr [rax+rcx*8+8],r8 ds:fffff8b2`03821ff0=????????????????
    Resetting default scope
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80003905b91 to fffff80003887f00
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`0bd6d2f8 fffff800`03905b91 : 00000000`00000050 fffff8b2`03821ff0 00000000`00000001 fffff880`0bd6d460 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff880`0bd6d300 fffff800`03885fee : 00000000`00000001 fffff8a0`001b54a8 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000001 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x40f5b
    fffff880`0bd6d460 fffff800`03b5f680 : fffff880`00000000 fffff880`025cd480 fffff8a0`005f9010 fffffa80`08fb0b10 : nt!KiPageFault+0x16e
    fffff880`0bd6d5f0 fffff800`03b7e764 : fffff800`03b5eae0 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`08fb0b10 00000000`00000001 : nt!CmpParseKey+0xba0
    fffff880`0bd6d8c0 fffff800`03b83876 : fffffa80`08fb0b10 fffff880`0bd6da40 00000000`00000040 fffffa80`05b47900 : nt!ObpLookupObjectName+0x585
    fffff880`0bd6d9c0 fffff800`03b62bec : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff8a0`094e9601 fffff880`0bd6daa8 : nt!ObOpenObjectByName+0x306
    fffff880`0bd6da90 fffff800`03b64d3b : 00000000`0008e278 00000000`00020019 00000000`0008e298 00000000`00000000 : nt!CmOpenKey+0x28a
    fffff880`0bd6dbe0 fffff800`03887153 : fffffa80`05d70060 fffff880`0bd6dca0 00000000`7efdb000 fffffa80`00000004 : nt!NtOpenKeyEx+0xf
    fffff880`0bd6dc20 00000000`77ae0e0a : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
    00000000`0008e238 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x77ae0e0a
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    nt!CmpParseKey+ba0
    fffff800`03b5f680 4c8944c808      mov     qword ptr [rax+rcx*8+8],r8
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  3
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  nt!CmpParseKey+ba0
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: nt
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  ntkrnlmp.exe
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4a5bc600
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_nt!CmpParseKey+ba0
    
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x50_nt!CmpParseKey+ba0
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Good Luck,
    Captain
     
  12. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    See!! I said an expert would be along!!
     
  13. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    -Captain,

    First of all, thank you kindly for the assistance. It's difficult to pinpoint this BSOD and its really been causing quite a few headaches. Now on to business!

    I have gotten rid of Avast, and run the system scan.
    "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations" was the result I recieved.

    Now as for the USB dilemma.. Im a little confused, the only yellow flag (Malfunctioning) Device I can locate on my device manager, is for my Saitek Flight Control System, for which I have the drivers installed. Said device is listed as 'Root Enumerator' of which there are two, the other one does not have a yellow flag. I do not believe this to be the problem however, because these BSOD's were occuring before I even purchased the flight control system, and did not worsen upon installation, until several months later.

    Whats this about the driver verifier and are there any other steps I can take to troubleshoot things gremlin?

    Much Obliged once again.
     
  14. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    In the bios, load 'optimized defaults' (or to that effect) to auto-adjust the settings. Most likely 9-9-9-24.
     
  15. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont see any Optimized Defaults option in the bios, but my current timing settings are taken off the kingston website, and are 9-9-9-27.
    Maybe im missing, im running Phoenix980 AwardBIOS
     
  16. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    If you're sure it's supposed to be that way let it be. I reckon recent Kingstons 9-9-9-24 1.5v. But again, if you know your RAM for sure then let it be that way.

    "Optimized defaults" or "Crash Proof" or something with that meaning will almost always set RAM right.

    RAM set wrong will often result in blue screen crashes.
     
  17. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've confirmed the ram is indeed 9-9-9-27, (Kingston Technology Company - HyperX DDR3 -) (pn KHX1600C9D3K3/6GX), sadly I still cant find an optimized settings button or anything of that nature, and when set to auto the Bios wants to set it to 11-11-11-27.. weird

    I'll continue trudging through the infuriating troubleshooting, but im admittantly quite lost.
     
  18. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
  19. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Driver Verifier enabled..

    restart causes steady BSOD for first several boots. Not an 0x50 stop however, now a 0xC9. with the message,
    "The IO manager has detected a violation by a driver that is being verified. the faultry driver that is being erified must be debugged and replaced with working version.

    Will attempt to safe mode and return to booting order.. the BSOD does not referrance the exact driver? should i simply begin a process of elimination by only enabling a few drivers at a time in the verifier?
     
  20. Synthius980

    Synthius980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: Also recieving occasion 0X0A IRQL_Not_less_than_Or_Equal, with verifier enabled, no driver mentioned
     

Share This Page

Loading...