ShellExecuteEx Failed; code 1203 and code 2.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Candy001, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. Candy001

    Candy001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently downloaded a program, and when i tried to run the .exe file i got an error box with the error ShellExecuteEx Failed; code 1203. I tried to install an anti malware program, and when i tried to run that file i got the same error, but with code 2 this time.

    If i try and run either program as Administrator i get and error saying windowns cannot acces C:\Users...

    I also can't move any files in or out of C, nor can i delete any files from C. I tried to run a system restore but I got an error saying i do not have permission to access C:.

    Please Help!
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Welcome to windows7forums.

    1. Did you clean install Windows 7 on a formatted partition, or did you go upgrade?

    2. ShellExecuteEx is an important system routine function which may fail to communicate with a software installer - if there is a compatibility issue, for example.

    Get all the system updates and check the software site for latest version as well as for compatibility requirements, including x86/x64 issues.
     
  3. Candy001

    Candy001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7 came pre-installed on the netbook i brought 7 months ago and i have no previous issues withit/havent changed and of the HDD partitions.

    I have checked for updates and found nothing.
     
  4. Veegertx

    Veegertx Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    19
    what program was that should be first ?
     
  5. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    Try running AV in safe mode. (press F8 at boot and choose safemode)

    Make sure you don't have 2 anti viruses installed.
    Run MalwareBytes (Malwarebytes) and SuperAntiSpyware http://www.superantispyware.com and then try again.
     
  6. Candy001

    Candy001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could install and run both of these of these programs in Safe Mode, but when i tried to run them in normal mode only superantispyware would run. Malwarebytes gave the error code 0x800704b3 when i try and run the program.

    SuperAnitSpyware did remove some adware/malware but none of the files it cleaned have fixed the initial problems.
     
  7. Veegertx

    Veegertx Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    19
    Candy001
    What program did you install that initially gave this?
     
  8. Candy001

    Candy001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I first noticed the problem when i tried to install etax2010 (I don't think this caused the problem as I got it from the Autralian Tax Office site), so I'm not sure if there error started earlier or not.
     
  9. Veegertx

    Veegertx Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    19
    An option to system restore

    Backup any files you want to save to a floppy or usb stick

    Reboot, start tapping F8 until you get a black screen and first option is 'Repair your Computer'
    Hit enter, Select keyboard, Select User and enter Password
    Choose System Restore and check the box say show more at bottom.
    Choose wisely here as we want to go back before this problem started.
     
  10. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321

    Are you trying to install from an administrator account (which may not be the same as "Run as...").
     
  11. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
  12. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
  13. Candy001

    Candy001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the late reply guys,

    I tried several of my system restore points, but they either all had the error or were missing files and wouldn't load. In the end I've restored the computer to factory and now its working fine.

    Cheers for all the help guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...