Windows 7 Simon the Sorcerer 4 Windows Installer Error

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by LeChimp, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. LeChimp

    LeChimp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to install Simon the Sorcerer 4 under Windows 7 Home Premium, and it gets right to the end and just after creating the shortcuts I get the following error:

    Error 1722. There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A program run as part of the setup did not finish as expected. Contact your support personnel or package vendor. Action tages_driver_32, location: C:\Windows\...\MSID32.tmp, command: x

    It then rollsback the setup. I've tried running setup directly and running it in compat mode, and as admin still get the same thing though. Its only this one game that i'm having this problem with. Hopefully someone will be able to shed some light on it.

    I have a NVIDIA GeForce 8500GT and have 4GB RAM.

    Edit: Its the 32 bit of Windows.
     
    #1 LeChimp, Oct 24, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
  2. bbalint85

    bbalint85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have exactly the same problem. I know it doesn't help, but at least it's not just you...
     
  3. Helibaby

    Helibaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Simon 4 cannot be installed under Windows 7

    I had the same problem under Windows 7 Home Premium x86.
    After rebooting my computer I got a message about the shutdown of a not compatible driver.
    I discovered a Tagès driver as reason for this behavior.
    As it is a copy protection I realized the connection to Simon 4.

    Here is my solution:
    1. Update the already installed Tagès driver to the current version: TAGES, the AAA Copy Protection System
    2. Install Simon 4
    3. Install Simon 4 v1.1 update
    4. Enjoy Simon 4
     
    LeChimp and (deleted member) like this.
  4. LeChimp

    LeChimp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give it ago, and post back. I didnt relise there was a patch for the english version of Simon 4.

    Edit: I've got the game installed now. Thanks Helibaby. :)
     
    #4 LeChimp, Oct 30, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  5. strawberry

    strawberry New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys! Hope someone can help? I'm kinda new to all this... my Simon game also doesn't want to work and I've read the advice but to be honest... I don't know where the drive is that you guys are talking about...:confused:
     
  6. Helibaby

    Helibaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tages AAA Copy Protection System driver update

    Hi strawberry,

    in my post I was talking about a driver that is neccessary to run a program using the "TAGES AAA Copy Protection System". The driver is installed during the installation process of "Simon 4". But that version is outdated.
    You can get an update via the URL I gave in my first post in point 1.
    On the "Drivers" page you can download the actual Windows 7 compatible driver.

    Regards Helibaby
     
  7. faxedhead

    faxedhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone post a link to the english 1.1 update/patch? I can only find the german one...

    Thanks :)
     
  8. aideen04

    aideen04 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    HELLLLLOOOOO any one ???? i have looked bloody everywhere for the patch for simon the sorcerer 4 v1.1 i can only find the german one i would really like to get the game working will someone please reply with a link ??? thank you so much
     
  9. aideen04

    aideen04 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Simon 4 cannot be installed under Windows 7

    Here is my solution:
    1. Update the already installed Tagès driver to the current version: TAGES, the AAA Copy Protection System
    2. Install Simon 4
    3. Install Simon 4 v1.1 update
    4. Enjoy Simon 4[/QUOTE]



    you have said that this patch is here?? where is the link for it ????
     
  10. aideen04

    aideen04 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Simon 4 cannot be installed under Windows 7

    Here is my solution:
    1. Update the already installed Tagès driver to the current version: TAGES, the AAA Copy Protection System
    2. Install Simon 4
    3. Install Simon 4 v1.1 update
    4. Enjoy Simon 4[/QUOTE]



    you have said that this patch is here?? where is the link for it ????
     

Share This Page

Loading...