Windows 7 Skipping

Benetration

Windows 7 x64 SP1
4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Creative Gamer Soundcard, 2.4Ghz Core 2 Quad, nVidia 8800GTS graphics card

I am in need of urgent help. I am an IT technician and I cannot diagnose this problem at all! Basically, my computer keeps skipping (freezing for a second, and then resuming constantly). It happens randomly, but a few times every few minutes. My sound also skips really badly when I play music.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled my sound card and graphics card drivers. I have also reinstalled my operating system (to see if that would solve the issue) and it has not. This tells me its hardware, or a program that I use regularly. However, my main question is, how do I work out whats causing it?!

I have scanned my computer with 3 different anti-viruses both before and after reinstalling the OS and they all came back clean.

I have (and mainly use) Firefox 7.0.1 and iTunes 10.5.1. Before I open any of these programs when my computer starts up, it starts to skip. So surely it could not be these?

I am really stuck on this guys and girls, so any help would be greatly appreciated. If you want any additional info, I will gladly assist!

Thanks in advance!

Have a look at what is being run at startup. The best tool to give you comprehensive info and control in this is autoruns - you can use it to identify what is running, delete anything you need - and, most usefully just temporarily flag something to stop it running as a test before finally deleting it if you need to - free from here:

Autoruns for Windows

You might also go to Control Panel, Performance Information and Tools, Advanced Tools.

The bottom line is Generate a system health report. It will run for 60 seconds, and if your system hesitates, maybe it will see why.