Slow internet with windows 7 64 bit 4 GB Ram

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by Glebovic, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. Glebovic

    Glebovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem Description: I have windows 7 home premium 64 bit.
    I had 2 Gbytes of DDR2 ram and had no problem.
    I tried to add extra 2 GB of ram to a total of 4 Gb.
    I saw using CPU-z and on my_computer,the system was identified 4 Gb of ram as expected, with dual channel.
    The problem is that my Internet works very slow !!!
    I tries with IE and chrome ,and the internet speed was very poor.
    I removed the extra ram , and the internet speed was high again.
    I repeat it 3 times an the results was the same :
    2 GB ram - fast Internet.
    4 GB ram - slow Internet.
    The CPU utilization was only about 5-10 %,and about 25 % of ram was in use.
    I didn't try to check the performance with other programs.
    I also run the windows memory diagnostic tool, and it complited successfuly with no errors.

    I don't know if its relevant. I have dual boot, with XP 32 bit as the other operating system.
    (with the XP there is no problem - fast internet)

    Please advice
     
  2. Glebovic

    Glebovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Slow internet with windows 7 64 bit 4 GB Ram

    Problem Description: I have windows 7 home premium 64 bit.
    I had 2 Gbytes of DDR2 ram and had no problem.
    I tried to add extra 2 GB of ram to a total of 4 Gb.
    I saw using CPU-z and on my_computer,the system was identified 4 Gb of ram as expected, with dual channel.
    The problem is that my Internet works very slow !!!
    I tries with IE and chrome ,and the internet speed was very poor.
    I removed the extra ram , and the internet speed was high again.
    I repeat it 3 times an the results was the same :
    2 GB ram - fast Internet.
    4 GB ram - slow Internet.
    The CPU utilization was only about 5-10 %,and about 25 % of ram was in use.
    I didn't try to check the performance with other programs.
    I also run the windows memory diagnostic tool, and it complited successfuly with no errors.

    I don't know if its relevant. I have dual boot, with XP 32 bit as the other operating system.
    (with the XP there is no problem - fast internet)

    Please advice​
     
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi,
    was the extra RAM the same specification as the stick installed?


    I've also merged your posts as double posting is not allowed. Please do not double post.
     
    #3 kemical, Feb 2, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2010
  4. Glebovic

    Glebovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes , both sticks are exctly the same, 2 GB DDR2 800MHz
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Have you tried taking out the original 2GB and then replacing it with the new 2GB. Then boot the machine and see how it runs.. If it's still running slow then it could be that the RAM is faulty.
     
  6. Glebovic

    Glebovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found the problem !!!

    The problem was with the wireless Device driver

    I reinstaled windows 7 and ,have no problem.
    When i updated the Realtek 8185 Extensible 802.11b/g Wireless Device driver to version 1.1122.1016 2009 from 16.10.2009 I had the problem again !!!
    I did driver rollback to 6 1053 1002.2006 from 21/06/2006 and the have full internet speed again.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    That's great! Congrats on finding and fixing the problem..
     
  8. tonyynot

    tonyynot New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    bonjour, j'ai le meme probleme que toi avec Windows 7 64 bits et ma clef USB Hercules WiFi.
    J'ai pas trop compris se que tu avais fait pour resoudre le problème, est ce que tu peux m aider, merci
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Translation:

    hello, I have the same problem as you with Windows 7 64-bit and my Hercules WiFi USB key.
    I too was understood that you had done to solve the problem ¨ me is that you can help m, thank you
     

Share This Page

Loading...