Snipping Tool

Discussion in 'Windows XP Help and Support' started by seekermeister, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    I should elaborate.
    The so called "update" that I mentioned ( there were about 2 or 3 of them in last 5 years ) was about a new version available, and asked if I wanted to "update ".
     
  2. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I think that Securia thing is just getting in the way of everything,,, :)
     
  3. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Understood, but for it to notify you about those 2 or 3 updates, it had to continually check at regular intervals. Over 5 years, I have no idea of how many times it did that, because it doesn't prescribe the interval to check at. Let's just say that it only checks once a month (but I suspect more often) that still equal 60 checks over 5 years. If weekly than quadruple that number. If everytime the program starts, then who knows how many times. For most apps this may not be too important, but I'm just paranoid enough to not like having my computer do anything that I don't know about.
     
  4. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Depends on how you look at it.
     
  5. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I don't know, even the simplest app like the printkey is making it a big deal. It's not even an installer. That's how I look at it.
     
  6. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Any fault to be found is with me, not Secunia, because it does have the ability to set it to ignore a program. I just choose not to use it.
     
  7. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I see. Your system must be very high end and very expensive to deserve that kind of security detail from the user. My system is my playground. I like experimenting with it. So, definitely, no such security allowed. :) Lately, I just installed a Mac OS X Mountain Lion 10.8 on it on virtual box. Just for fun.


    3 OSes in one machine (Win 7 as Main OS).

    IMAG24421.



    ....
    .
     
  8. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Not sure why you are laboring the point, but it has nothing to do with how high-end the equipment is, nor how it is used. It has to do with protecting my privacy and keeping it running as well as I know how. Regardless of of the quality of the equipment or how much experimentation done with it, I would think that you share some concerns of that fashion. Don't you use any security programs? I would imagine that you do. If not, then I would never understand that no matter how much or long you might try to explain it.
     
  9. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Yes I do have security. But I don't rely too much on what programs tell me what to do. I tell my system what to do and sometimes force it to do things I want it to do. Like, it's not suppose to run Mac OS X.. But I want to and it can be done. I'm sure securia will be popping a lot crap if I have it installed on my system. Just saying. :)

    Let's move on and see if someone can help you with what you need. Cheers!
     
  10. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Not necessary in this case, davidhk129 has already provided the solution to this question.
     
  11. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Good one.



    .
     
  12. @thehop

    @thehop Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Complementary Tool-Tipp ...

    Pointofix is a handy Freeware for drawing direct on the Screen/Desktop (only in German Site?)

    http://www.pointofix.de/bedienung.phphttp://www.pointofix.de/bedienung.php

    http://www.pointofix.de/download.phphttp://www.pointofix.de/download.php (Language Packs available)

    [​IMG]
     
  13. seekermeister

    seekermeister Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    85
    Thanks, but I have a hard enough time figuring things out in English, much less in German.
     
  14. FredWilliam5

    FredWilliam5 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I often use Free Online Screenshot as an alternative to Windows 7's Snipping Tool. Similar to Snipping Tool, it can also take screenshots of anything shown on computer and make quick edits. It's my favourite choice. BTW, it can also share screenshots via Facebook, Twitter, etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...