Some TV shows recorded in Vista won't play

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by winterwolfes, Oct 31, 2009.

  1. winterwolfes

    winterwolfes New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed windows 7. All of my recorded movies and shows play just fine but three. When I try to play these three I get a message that says they are copy protected and can only be played on the PC where they were recorded. Thing is, they are on the PC where they were recorded and of course these 3 are the ones my daughter wants the most.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
  3. winterwolfes

    winterwolfes New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gave PowerDVD a shot. No go. What happens is the same as every other player. The file starts and as soon as it get to the point that that actual show starts it just cuts off.

    I spent 2 hours today with Microsoft. I gave them control of my computer remotely. They play around with it for the whole 2 hours. They updated my DRM files and other stuff. Nothing worked. Finally they just said, sorry we can't help.

    I guess I just lose these recordings. Too bad. Nothing ever works 100% the way it is supposed to I guess. I've never upgraded windows without casualties. I guess I'll just chalk these 3 up to that. Acceptable casualties, but the fact that Napster won't work anymore for me is not. So on to trying to conquer that problem.

    Thanks everyone.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Sorry to hear it didn't work... The only other thing I could think of is changing the format the files are in? If you know what the format is, then there may be an app that will change it?
     
  5. winterwolfes

    winterwolfes New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought about trying to convert it but I have a feeling that just as no video software is able to access the files that conversion tools will not be able to either.
     
  6. gavin19

    gavin19 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    11
    What format are the files? Try downloading MediaInfo and open the files with that. Take a picture of the Window with the 'Snipping Tool' (All Programs > Accesories > Snipping Tool), and add it to your next post.

    Download the K-Lite Codec Pack and try playing the files. During install select '7. Lot of Stuff' instead of '1. Default'.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    If you post what file format they're in i'll see what I can find..:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...