Let me start off by saying that I have disabled auto arrange in my version of Windows 7, so I can drag folders anywhere I want. However, I've noticed that "sorty by" is not remembered. For example, lets say I drag a folder somewhere off the grid like show in this screenshot (Test1 is off the grid): Then, when I no longer want the folder off the grid, I go to "sorty by", and "name", to make it look arranged like this: The problem is that if I close the folder now and re-open it, it will look like the first screenshot again. In other words, once I drag a folder off the grid, it will permanently remain that way. Sorting the files is forgotten every time I close a folder. This is VERY annoying. Is there any way to fix it?