Windows 7 Sound stuttering in Windows 7

Obmutescence

Hi fellow Windows 7 users! Well so I've been using Windows 7 64 bit, Ultimate, for a couple months now, started on the RC and am loving it. Recently a couple weeks ago I took a step and got a technet sub and am currently using the RTM which is 6.1.7600 Build 7600. Problem I'm having now though is that I keep having sound stutters every now and again. Here are my specs:

ASUS P5Q PRO
Intel Core 2 Quad @ 2.66Ghz
EVGA 9800GTX+
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
4GB DDR2 1066 RAM
WD Caviar Blue 320GB
Corsair 650W PSU

On the RC I didn't seem to have any issues but once I went up to the RTM it kinda crept up on me. Tried typing uninstall and re-install of drivers, used driver sweeper also, turned of enhancements on sound, reformat of Win7, Using the most up to date drivers, just recently got the chipset drivers from ASUS and SATA drivers even though I don't think those will do much. Any ideas guys? Thanks!

Last edited:
Solved!

Hi,

I had this exact problem on my stationary computer which is now 100% SOLVED!

I used to run Windows XP x86 without any problem, with both overclocked CPU and not. After upgrading to Windows 7 x64 the problems started...

The solution was to upgrade BIOS to the latest version. I have a GA-965P-DS3 (rev 3.3) motherboard running an Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 @ 2,13 GHz clocked to 2,66 GHz. I had BIOS version F10, the website states in version F11 "Support Intel E6420 & E6320 CPU", i.e. my CPU.

So after downloading and flashing BIOS to the latest version, F14, everything works like a charm! No more choppy, jerky, sluggish mouse movement. No more jerky, slow moving windows. No more jerky browsing. No more glitches in sound or anything else while performing any kind of task in Windows 7.